Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Pretty decent fondant recipe for just covering cakes. I made it exactly to the original recipe specs, and it turned out really soft, and a little "shiny." So I'm refrigerating it to see if it helps, but I still don't think it's going to be as stiff or rubbery as I'd like. I could probably add some gum paste to stiffen it up, or even more powdered sugar, but I'd hate to add too much and get cracks. :) It does taste very good, and I wanted to try this over others due to the dairy-free factor. I'll update if anything changes tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was my first time making fondant and I chose this recipe because it seemed much easier than the others I looked at. It turned out wonderful and delicious! It did start to look pretty greasy so I substituted about 1/4 of the sugar for flour. The flour didn't take any sweetness away and made it less greasy. I found it very easy to work with. Next time I make it I might try using a little less corn syrup. Overall I will most certainly be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
it worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
When I tried it,it turned out really greasy! I had to wash my hands every 5 seconds because I couldn't pick anything up or it wold just slip out of my hands! Even in the picture above you can see how it looks kinda greasy! My cake turned out good but I would recommend to find another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I couldn't even roll out the fondant without it crumblimg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Tastes good....pretty easy to make...I just had problems with it getting a little soft and a bit cracked...adding more crisco didn't work well...but I'd use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I spent half of my day trying to get this fondant recipe to work. It goes from being too soft/sticky and unstable to dry and cracking without any discernible moment between where the texture is usable. I've used other fondant recipes in the past without having this problem. After two attempts with much time spent trying to make this fondant work, I am finding myself wondering how so many reviewers found this recipe useful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Was a fail. It tasted very good. Just like buttercream. But almost broke my kitchenmaid mixer, then practically oozed grease. After almost that, it wouldn't hold it's shape and fell apart on the cake. Ended up having to finish with store bought fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
THIS is NOT a TRUE fondant recipe, made it thinking it would be like the ready made stuff at the stores, TOTAL DISASTER!!! very oily, breaks & grainy looking!!! would be fine for cut outs or a flat short sided cake. would not reccomend for a full coverage rolled fondant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This came out very greasy and the flavor was lacking big time. I will stick with Marshmallow Fondant from this site. It tastes SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Baity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harvard, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States