Roll About Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
After reading all of the reviews for this recipe, I feel I need to share my thoughts on this. Before I even began to use the recipe, I read the reviews. I almost didn't make the cookies b/c of some of them. I'm glad that I did, however. This cookie recipe is the best I have ever found!! I will use it for the rest of my cookie making days, and will also pass it on to friends and family. I have not gotten one bad comment about this cookie, as a matter of fact, just the opposite. Everyone who has eaten one of these cookies, wants the recipe. I did make a couple of small modifications, such as using less milk than the recipe calls for (about 2/3 of a cup) and I also used almond extract for flavor. I then used a round biscuit cutter, to cut the cookies with, and they baked up beautifully!! I frosted them with my peppermint flavored icing,(white and red) and made "peppermint candy cookies" out of them. They were a big hit at my companies' Christmas party!! I did not have any problems with rolling the cookies out, and they did not need to be chilled. Just flour the area to roll them out in, and your rolling pin. I realize this is just my opinion, but I felt I needed to make sure nobody would pass this recipe by without giving it a chance b/c it is a great one! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
We use this recipe every year, and everyone at work LOVES THEM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Without a doubt, this recipe makes up the best sugar cookies I've ever had! I've used it for several years now and it became a family & friend favorite the first year. They bake up so soft and have an almost silky smooth texture to the dough. Thanks so much K Cornell for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I loved these cookies, they were so easy to work with, no need to chill the dough. They cut up easily and best of all they stayed "Nice & soft". I do suggest to add the milk a bit at a time until you get a nice soft, not sticky dough. Great cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! My first attempt at roll-out sugar cookies and I call it a success!! I agree with the other reviews that the dough is VERY soft and must be rolled carefully and with plenty of flour. But the end result is a light, puffy, not-too-sweet cookie that i'm just thrilled with. Another bit of advice - use the largest mixing bowl you have. i had to move the mixture to a bigger bowl TWICE. :) also agree with the tip about adding the milk gradually, i could have done with a bit less. made one batch of 20 cookies so far, still have about 2/3 of the dough left waiting in the fridge to be baked tomorrow. will try not to eat the rest of the batch we made tonight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
These cookies are wildly popular with my nieces and nephews. I can't bake them fast enough some times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Sauls de Reyes
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Super easy and perfect for rolling. My 3 1/2 year old was rolling and cutting by herself at the end! Followed one reviewer's suggestion to add the milk little by little so the dough wouldn't be sticky. I only used 1/4 cup milk and it was perfect. Also sprinkled cookies with sugar before baking. I halved the recipe and it was WAY plenty cookies for my family. Next time I will add a bit more sugar to the batter. These are GREAT! Definitely my new go to sugar cookie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Sauls de Reyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Old Hickory, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
tasted very good.we loved them.my daughter made them.she did a good job and she thought they were easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Grandin, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is my favorite roll out cookie. I've made them lots of times. I make tons at Christmas! Such a hit.. Yes, I do chill dough for about 30 mins. Or sometimes pre-plan for overnight. Never had any trouble with it being sticky. I've mailed these across the country from California to Michigan and they have been perfect. I don't like a really sweet cookie. I like to add stuff on the cookie. Such a s sprinkles, and candies and chocolate pieces. Give it a try chilling... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
wound up having to knead in a lot of flour to get it to rolling consistency, but, turned out fluffy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States