Roll About Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
I found this recipe to be too soft to roll out. The recipe does not say to chill, so I did not. I also feel they are not very sweet, making frosting them a necessity. They tasted much like biscuits to me (without frosting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This is not a pattern cookie. At best, a drop cookie. I have done a few batches now. I needed cookie shapes for one of my kindergartens and decided to try a new recipe, but have been disappointed. If you follow the recipe as-is, this can only be spooned, even if you chill it. I made several modifications while doing another batch, which made a nice, light sugar cookie. Add half a cup of confectioners' sugar to the butter mixture, because by the end (as I had expected) you'll need more floury, so if you don't want it to be bland you need it a bit sweeter. Follow the rest as written except add milk gradually and only as much as needed until you have a fair consistency for a dough -- it will not be a full cup, maybe 2/3. Chill it, then it can be rolled into 1 tsp balls (if you use a melon baller, with a scoop so that it does not stick, you can make them more uniform), roll in granulated white sugar, and press down slightly onto baking sheet (with baking parchment paper works best). Space them, because they will puff out. Bake until it's a cookie (right before it would start to brown if you can estimate well). Well that turned out alright, but since the recipe as it was given was not at all what it promises, I can only give this two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2000
Excellent soft sugar cookies... takes food coloring well I rooled the dough about 1/4" thick and got 44 3-1/2" cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I had to add 3 more cups of flour, and it ws still so sticky I could hardly work with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I loved these cookies, they were so easy to work with, no need to chill the dough. They cut up easily and best of all they stayed "Nice & soft". I do suggest to add the milk a bit at a time until you get a nice soft, not sticky dough. Great cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Some of the other reviews on this say that this cookie isn't sweet enough, I added about 1/2 cup of sugar and about 1/4 cup flour. My batch was for 30 cookies. It made the cookies taste really good. They are soft and cakey. The recipe says that you don't have to chill it, but if you don't they are almost impossible to roll out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
After reading all of the reviews for this recipe, I feel I need to share my thoughts on this. Before I even began to use the recipe, I read the reviews. I almost didn't make the cookies b/c of some of them. I'm glad that I did, however. This cookie recipe is the best I have ever found!! I will use it for the rest of my cookie making days, and will also pass it on to friends and family. I have not gotten one bad comment about this cookie, as a matter of fact, just the opposite. Everyone who has eaten one of these cookies, wants the recipe. I did make a couple of small modifications, such as using less milk than the recipe calls for (about 2/3 of a cup) and I also used almond extract for flavor. I then used a round biscuit cutter, to cut the cookies with, and they baked up beautifully!! I frosted them with my peppermint flavored icing,(white and red) and made "peppermint candy cookies" out of them. They were a big hit at my companies' Christmas party!! I did not have any problems with rolling the cookies out, and they did not need to be chilled. Just flour the area to roll them out in, and your rolling pin. I realize this is just my opinion, but I felt I needed to make sure nobody would pass this recipe by without giving it a chance b/c it is a great one! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
We use this recipe every year, and everyone at work LOVES THEM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This recipe is very easy. If you roll out the dough to about 1/2" thinkness. if it is any thinner, the bottom will get to brown. These are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Oak, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
wound up having to knead in a lot of flour to get it to rolling consistency, but, turned out fluffy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States