Roll About Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2000
Excellent soft sugar cookies... takes food coloring well I rooled the dough about 1/4" thick and got 44 3-1/2" cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
great cookie recipe. I used it for christmas cookies and they turned out better than the usual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
I found this recipe to be too soft to roll out. The recipe does not say to chill, so I did not. I also feel they are not very sweet, making frosting them a necessity. They tasted much like biscuits to me (without frosting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
We use this recipe every year, and everyone at work LOVES THEM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This is not a pattern cookie. At best, a drop cookie. I have done a few batches now. I needed cookie shapes for one of my kindergartens and decided to try a new recipe, but have been disappointed. If you follow the recipe as-is, this can only be spooned, even if you chill it. I made several modifications while doing another batch, which made a nice, light sugar cookie. Add half a cup of confectioners' sugar to the butter mixture, because by the end (as I had expected) you'll need more floury, so if you don't want it to be bland you need it a bit sweeter. Follow the rest as written except add milk gradually and only as much as needed until you have a fair consistency for a dough -- it will not be a full cup, maybe 2/3. Chill it, then it can be rolled into 1 tsp balls (if you use a melon baller, with a scoop so that it does not stick, you can make them more uniform), roll in granulated white sugar, and press down slightly onto baking sheet (with baking parchment paper works best). Space them, because they will puff out. Bake until it's a cookie (right before it would start to brown if you can estimate well). Well that turned out alright, but since the recipe as it was given was not at all what it promises, I can only give this two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Awesome taste, but very sticky...I had to add LOTS of flour over what the recipe asked for. Bakes very fluffy - like the kind you get at a bakery. Watch carefully when cooking - turns brown easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Without a doubt, this recipe makes up the best sugar cookies I've ever had! I've used it for several years now and it became a family & friend favorite the first year. They bake up so soft and have an almost silky smooth texture to the dough. Thanks so much K Cornell for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This was a big disappointment. I needed a quick and easy roll out sugar cookie and I got a real sticky mess. No amount of chilling was going to make this a roll out, which was the point. Sorry this recipe needs a new name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
A very good, simple sugar cookie. The dough was quite soft & although I chilled it, it still needed quite a lot of flour, but yet was manageable to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I loved these cookies, they were so easy to work with, no need to chill the dough. They cut up easily and best of all they stayed "Nice & soft". I do suggest to add the milk a bit at a time until you get a nice soft, not sticky dough. Great cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States