Roll About Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Thanks so much to Qwertzik for the tips for making this work. I made half a batch of these. I used margarine instead of shortening and 3/4 cup white sugar with 1/4 cup powdered sugar. I only used 1/3 cup milk instead of the 1/2 cup, and used 2 1/4 cups flour with 1/2 tsp salt and the dough turned out really well. Probably could have rolled it out, but I decided to roll the dough into one-inch balls and roll them in a brown sugar/cinnamon mixture. Flattened slightly before baking and baked for 8 minutes. They turned out nice and soft, with just the right amount of sweetness. So, since heavy modifications are needed for this recipe, two stars is really all it can get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
After reading all of the reviews for this recipe, I feel I need to share my thoughts on this. Before I even began to use the recipe, I read the reviews. I almost didn't make the cookies b/c of some of them. I'm glad that I did, however. This cookie recipe is the best I have ever found!! I will use it for the rest of my cookie making days, and will also pass it on to friends and family. I have not gotten one bad comment about this cookie, as a matter of fact, just the opposite. Everyone who has eaten one of these cookies, wants the recipe. I did make a couple of small modifications, such as using less milk than the recipe calls for (about 2/3 of a cup) and I also used almond extract for flavor. I then used a round biscuit cutter, to cut the cookies with, and they baked up beautifully!! I frosted them with my peppermint flavored icing,(white and red) and made "peppermint candy cookies" out of them. They were a big hit at my companies' Christmas party!! I did not have any problems with rolling the cookies out, and they did not need to be chilled. Just flour the area to roll them out in, and your rolling pin. I realize this is just my opinion, but I felt I needed to make sure nobody would pass this recipe by without giving it a chance b/c it is a great one! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! My first attempt at roll-out sugar cookies and I call it a success!! I agree with the other reviews that the dough is VERY soft and must be rolled carefully and with plenty of flour. But the end result is a light, puffy, not-too-sweet cookie that i'm just thrilled with. Another bit of advice - use the largest mixing bowl you have. i had to move the mixture to a bigger bowl TWICE. :) also agree with the tip about adding the milk gradually, i could have done with a bit less. made one batch of 20 cookies so far, still have about 2/3 of the dough left waiting in the fridge to be baked tomorrow. will try not to eat the rest of the batch we made tonight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This recipe is very easy. If you roll out the dough to about 1/2" thinkness. if it is any thinner, the bottom will get to brown. These are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Oak, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Some of the other reviews on this say that this cookie isn't sweet enough, I added about 1/2 cup of sugar and about 1/4 cup flour. My batch was for 30 cookies. It made the cookies taste really good. They are soft and cakey. The recipe says that you don't have to chill it, but if you don't they are almost impossible to roll out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
these cookies taste like bland biscuts. They're not sweet enough, they don't have any flavor, and they're really hard to roll out. I tried to fix up the recipie a bit with some salt, more vanilla, sugar, and flour but its still not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
NOT to be rolled out cookies. Not sweet enough to be dropped, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This dough was very sticky and hard to work with. I had to add extra flour. I thought the cookie had a bitter taste to it. I used a lot of frosting in order to cover up the bitter taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
wound up having to knead in a lot of flour to get it to rolling consistency, but, turned out fluffy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Wish I would have read the reviews PRIOR to wasting all the ingredients!! Had to add an additional 3 cups flour!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weluvcountrylife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States