Roesti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Very good! I used a mixture of butter and bacon grease. I also added half a chopped sweet onion, chopped bacon and sprinkled cheese over the top at the end of the cooking time. Both my kids and I enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
It's possible I overcooked the potatoes, so that could be why it just tasted like mashed potatoes to us. Not really sure, but it is a lot of effort for mashed potatoes. Good, and I like the crust, although it was difficult for me to flip on the plate--dindn't really work well for me. Not sure if that's something that takes practice or what. I may try again with less cooked potatoes and see if it ends up a little more like I imagined. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Oh my goodness! I've been searching for a good roesti recipe since moving back from Switzerland where I enjoyed it at restaurants and from the supermarket! Who knew it could be so easy?! For this recipe I found it important to keep a lid on the frying pan..I did this and found that the potatoes got a lot softer because they boiled a little bit more from the excess steam...I also like to mix it up a little bit so one time I added a little bit of chopped onion and sauted it in the butter before adding the potato..yum yum! To flip the roesti I simply did what I do with omletes...I waited until a nice crust had developed on the bottom and I could move it around a little bit in the pan if I shook it...I then slid it gently onto a plate, flipped my frying pan over the roesti that was on the plate while holding the plate and turned the whole thing over while holding the bottom of the plate and the handle of the frying pan in one quick motion so that the top of the roesti was now on the bottom of the frying pan! Easy as can be! :) I also added some grated cheese to the top of it and stuck the lid back on while the bottom cooked - cheddar of course..mmm! That part definitely isn't Swiss..but I love cheddar..it's the best of both worlds! This has become a very popular and very asked about potato dish in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Being a swiss person I just have to say something to this recipe.. It works perfectly without the milk, and do not cover it, or it will become soggy. Use a tiny bit of peanut oil or lard with the butter and fry it on medium heat. the trick with the plate does take a little practice but it is the easiest way to a real crispy, flat roeschti. Melt some more butter and oil/lard in before putting it back into the pan. Try covering it with (Raclette-) cheese (and 4 slices of tomato) and putting it in the oven for another 8-10 minutes on high heat... En Guete! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meretism

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Basel, Basel, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was great for breakfast, I didn't add anything extra in the first time but its going to be a lot of fun playing around with different ingredients to add
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I live in Swiss! I make this with creamed spinach, smoked bacon, and guyere cheeze added! Serve with a crusty bread and a glass of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graynewf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Great recipe, but, a little bleak on the additives that can be injected into the recipe as well. Also, this works best in a cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
great recipe for extra potatoes. For easy flipping....plate's diameter should be larger then that of the pan's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CECK317

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Good thing I'm not Swiss...I took some liberties with the recipe. I used half red potatoes, half sweet potatoes (yams, really). I boiled the potatoes only four hours before I needed to cook them, so they didn't get their overnight 'rest' like they were supposed to (why do they need that rest, again?) I cooked them as directed, but didn't add the milk, and flipped it over and crusted the other side as well. It was super yummy, and before it was even gone my husband asked when I was making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was very good.... I put potatoes in fridge for a couple of hours & achived the same great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States