Roesti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Delicious potatoes! I used bacon grease instead of butter :) my low was not low enough and I had a pretty dark crust after only ten minutes, so next time I will try the lowest setting for my burner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I was amazed at how much difference adding the milk to the potatoes made. Really good dish and not hard to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
2 things you must know about this recipe. First, Swiss food is meant to be rich - this is delicious, but definitely rich (at least with cheese on top). Second, I think it needs to be stressed that the potatoes should only be boiled ~15 mins (they cook further in the pan afterall) - I overcooked mine and though it was still tasty, it would have been better slightly less soft. I too cooked this without a lid and without the milk - it's meant to crisp up and brown on both sides. A great dish to experiment with! We fried up onions and mushrooms to go with ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was very good.... I put potatoes in fridge for a couple of hours & achived the same great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Good thing I'm not Swiss...I took some liberties with the recipe. I used half red potatoes, half sweet potatoes (yams, really). I boiled the potatoes only four hours before I needed to cook them, so they didn't get their overnight 'rest' like they were supposed to (why do they need that rest, again?) I cooked them as directed, but didn't add the milk, and flipped it over and crusted the other side as well. It was super yummy, and before it was even gone my husband asked when I was making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
great recipe for extra potatoes. For easy flipping....plate's diameter should be larger then that of the pan's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CECK317

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Great recipe, but, a little bleak on the additives that can be injected into the recipe as well. Also, this works best in a cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I live in Swiss! I make this with creamed spinach, smoked bacon, and guyere cheeze added! Serve with a crusty bread and a glass of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graynewf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was great for breakfast, I didn't add anything extra in the first time but its going to be a lot of fun playing around with different ingredients to add
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Being a swiss person I just have to say something to this recipe.. It works perfectly without the milk, and do not cover it, or it will become soggy. Use a tiny bit of peanut oil or lard with the butter and fry it on medium heat. the trick with the plate does take a little practice but it is the easiest way to a real crispy, flat roeschti. Melt some more butter and oil/lard in before putting it back into the pan. Try covering it with (Raclette-) cheese (and 4 slices of tomato) and putting it in the oven for another 8-10 minutes on high heat... En Guete! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meretism

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Basel, Basel, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States