Rocky Road Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PHEOBS
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
WOW! This recipe is GREAT. We did exactly as written except I didn't have squares of chocolate. I put about 1/2 c chocolate chips into a sandwich baggie and melted in a bowl over the warm oven (though I'm sure it would have been just as easy in the microwave). Then I cut the corner of the baggie in order to make it simple to drizzle the chocolate over the bars. PERFECT!! These are tasty warm -- but EXCELLENT the next day when they've cooled completely (we made them at night and the next morning they were perfect!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BunnyD
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This was a pretty simple but yummy recipe. My modifications - I increased the graham crackers to 2 cups and the butter to 3/4 cup to make a thicker crust, and decreased the chocolate chips to 1 cup (I think it'd be way too sweet with 2 cups of chips). I also used chocolate graham crackers instead of the regular kind. Since the crust was thicker I ended up cooking about 30-35 minutes. It turned out pretty well, and it was an interesting variation on the traditional Magic Layer bars. Very sweet and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Wow, easy, attractive, and delicious! I love recipes like this, everyone thinks you had to labor over it, but it took me 15 minutes to put together! I used pecan (personal preference) and 1 cup chocolate chips with 1 cup peanut butter chips. For the topping I melted the chocolate in the microwave, 45 seconds on high, then stirred well, then in 30 second intervals with stirring in between until just melted. It is easy to scorch chocolate in the microwave so it needs to be stirred often. Then I used a teaspoon to splatter it on the top. It was a little to thick to drizzle. I will definitely make this one again. Oh yeah, be forewarned it is very sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Worth it. Quick and Cheap, but will make you look like a Rock Star at the bake sale or for the family. I made it for a bake sale at work. 9x 13 in pan used 1 cup choc chips, 2 C graham crackers 1 1/3 C walnuts, 2 C. marshmallow 1 can sweet milk nix the coconut but drizzled with 2 Tbsp. melted peanut butter and choc. Will use 2.5 C. of graham crackers with the next batch, needs thicker crust. Cooled in fridge 30 min ,then cut. Served on parchment paper, best served indoors due to ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S0NJAY
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
These turned out great. I cooled them for about 15 minutes, sliced them and then placed them on wax paper. I then cooled them in the refrigerator seperately so they'd harden. They were then perfect for packing up and transporting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I followed the suggestions of SONJAY, 2.5C of Graham crackers, 2C of marshmallows. I used Macadamia, Walnut, Peacan, Almonds and Cashews. White chocolate was used for drizzle. The children really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I am gonna have to lay down after I write this review. I just ate a row of gooey goodness and I feel a sugar coma setting in. :) By the way I substituted pecans for walnuts, mixed half chocolate and half butterscotch chips and ommited the coconut because that is what I had or didn't have. Great recipe for kids to help make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Easy recipe. I change the ingredients all the time, I add carmels, peanut butter chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
OMGOSH! This is a wonderful recipe--delicious--scrumptious and satisfying. These are a keeper! They are in my freezer and hidden until Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Crockers Sister

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I was short on the ingredients so could only make 1/2 batch! Have to stock the pantry back up and make again. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States