Rocky Road Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
There's one word for these - sinful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
These taste great however I made the mistake of reducing the recipe by 1/3 and using an 8 inch square pan.(I didn't have enough ingredients) I guess it must have been too thick because the crust fell completely apart into crumbs when I cut them into squares. So make sure you follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
This recipe was very simple to make and was very tasty, BUT after they cooled and I tried to cut them into squares, the marshmallows were so gooey that they wouldnt let me cut them. It was a mess!!! They were good, but the presentation was gross. I don't think I'll be making them any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Perfect every time! Nice chewy bar! LOVE IT! I use toasted chopped pecans instead of walnuts just because that's my preference, and they're great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Easy recipe. I change the ingredients all the time, I add carmels, peanut butter chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Wow, easy, attractive, and delicious! I love recipes like this, everyone thinks you had to labor over it, but it took me 15 minutes to put together! I used pecan (personal preference) and 1 cup chocolate chips with 1 cup peanut butter chips. For the topping I melted the chocolate in the microwave, 45 seconds on high, then stirred well, then in 30 second intervals with stirring in between until just melted. It is easy to scorch chocolate in the microwave so it needs to be stirred often. Then I used a teaspoon to splatter it on the top. It was a little to thick to drizzle. I will definitely make this one again. Oh yeah, be forewarned it is very sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
These turned out great. I cooled them for about 15 minutes, sliced them and then placed them on wax paper. I then cooled them in the refrigerator seperately so they'd harden. They were then perfect for packing up and transporting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BunnyD
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This was a pretty simple but yummy recipe. My modifications - I increased the graham crackers to 2 cups and the butter to 3/4 cup to make a thicker crust, and decreased the chocolate chips to 1 cup (I think it'd be way too sweet with 2 cups of chips). I also used chocolate graham crackers instead of the regular kind. Since the crust was thicker I ended up cooking about 30-35 minutes. It turned out pretty well, and it was an interesting variation on the traditional Magic Layer bars. Very sweet and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
These are fantastic! I used pecans instead of walnuts and added carmel squares, peanut butter chips, and butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Wonderful recipe and very easy!! Substituted butter flavoured Crisco and added 1 cup of butterscotch chips in place of a cup of choco chips and they turned out great! They were a big hit and will be making them regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy476

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States