Rocky Road Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
These are super rich but good. I made them for a cookie swap at work and everyone seemed to really enjoy them. I followed the advice of others and put the pan in the refrigerator before slicing into squares. I had a little trouble with some of the crust sticking in the pan, and it was a bit frustrating. It didn't affect the taste, just made them look a little sloppy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerThyme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
It is almost criminal that a square be this delicious. Perfect....SO GOOD! I made these for company a couple of weeks ago. BIG HIT ! ! ! ! The trick, DO NOT OVER COOK them and use FLAKED coconut, not that dried out fine coconut. Milk chocolate chips are good too. Just thinking about these...now I have to go and make them again. Thank you Dale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
So yummy!!! I took these to work & they were gone shortly after. I did change the amount of walnuts, chocolate chips, & condensed milk. When layering, it seemed as if about half of each is plenty. I feel if I used what the recipe called for, it would have been way too sweet. I also didn't use any coconut since there is none in rocky road. But this is one of my favorite deserts for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winfield, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Oh so delicious. It's so rich one sqaure is satisfying, that's unbelievable to a chocoholic like me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I'm not sure if this should get a 4 star. I love magic bars so i thought the addition of marshmallows would be awesome. And it was pretty good but the marshmallows kind of dissolve into the mixture. So you cant taste or see them. If I make them again I will bake normal magic bars then add the marshmallows after the cooking and just brown the marshmallows on top. I think they would look better that way too. Although cutting the bars would probably be difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
One word....AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Was delicious. I did 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs instead of 1 1/2 like the recipe said. I also used pecans instead of walnuts and milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet because of personal preference. I also covered the pan with aluminum foil after about 10 to 15 minutes because the marshmallows looked as if they were going to burn. I also kept mine in the fridge, this helped with everything sticking together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was good, a little on the sweet side... But good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These bars were a success. The only thing i would recommend is making them a day ahead of time. For some reason they are hard to cut the same day they are made. Very tasty and decadent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is fantastic and super easy! I have made this twice now. I didn't even measure the ingredients, just layered them on and it turned out great both times. It makes a big dessert and since there are only 2 in my house, I froze part of the first one in individual servings and it did just fine. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States