Rocky Road Popcorn Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I made these for a friend who just got her braces off. Everyone loved them. Here's how I changed the recipe to make it work for me. First, I chopped walnuts and put them in the bottom of the mini muffin cup liner. Then, I poured the melted chocolate over the nuts. I placed two pieces of buttered, salted popcorn and two mini marshmallows on top of the chocolate. I used about 3/4 lb of chocolate with 1/4 cup cream to make it pourable. The recipe made 24 truffles for me. So delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These were just "Okay" according to my family. They were slightly difficult to make. You have to use a lot of chocolate to get all the small pieces of popcorn, marshmallows, and peanuts to stick together. I put a small amount of chocolate on the bottom of the muffin pan, then the ingredients, then covered them with chocolate. If I make them again I will some how include caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moma Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Mybe I'm just a little picky, but this doesnt come out quite as "clean" looking as I like my cooking to look =/ it was tastey though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluRibbonz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
oh wow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhippy1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aschaffenburg, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was really good! Made a great Easter candy treat-didn't change a thing :) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOYO78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I used spanish peanuts and buttered popcorn. These were good at room temperature, but very messy. They did not turn out the way I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was a good recipe, though I recommend the following... Add 4 Tablespoons of cream and butter to the chocolate while melting. Adding the milk and butter creates a ganache which is easier to bite through than solid chocolate. Also before pouring the chocolate, move the ingredients to the sides by borrowing a hole in the middle of the ingredients... then pour the choc into the 'hole' and you will find that the chocolate holds the items together. Lastly, pretzels broken into bite-sized pieces are a good substitute for the popcorn and seem to hold the crunch better. Another reviewer complained about chopping the chocolate... I used chocolate chips and found no need for chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This is a very easy treat. The most challenging part of the dish is chopping a pound of chocolate though I think it is worth it to use chocoalte blocks as opposed to chips for quality. I made these for a picnic and they had softened by the time people ate them. They were messy but tasty. I would like to have tried them when the chocolate was still hardened by the cooling. Almost too rich for me with the amount of chocolate on each need to help hold the items together. I wonder if making a marshmallow paste of sorts to hold the ingredients together would be a good idea so you can then drizzle the chocolate sparingly over each "truffle". I may try that next time. Also, I think dried cranberries may be a good addition to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
These are delicious! They are also messy and kind of funky shaped, but they sure are fun. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States