Rocky Road Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was the best homemade ice cream I have ever made. I only had large marshmellows so I cut them in small pieces and when it was time to add them, I added them a little at a time and I also used walnuts. A definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiningstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Browns Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was a BIG Hit at our July 4th celebration! I added an additional cup of whole milk to make it go further and I was afraid it would be too rich. It was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Oh my goodness! This was the best homemade chocolate ice cream ever. I used 1 can of condensed milk in place of the 1 cup of light cream and it worked out well. I did cut up the marshmallows into smaller bits so that they would distribute more evenly. Some homemade ice creams aren't as good after they've been in the freezer for a day or two, but this was just as good. Definitely will make that recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this for Father's Day and it was an immediate hit! I wish I had made a 2nd batch because late arrivals missed out. I did use all half-and-half because of the calories, but I may go ahead and try it the next time using some heavy cream. I substituted walnuts for the pecans as I already had them on hand and no one complained. This would also be great with chocolate chips, but it stands well enough on its own~ It really was nice to see adults and kids walking about enjoying their ice cream cones! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! Oh! One little tip regarding keeping the marshmallows fresh~ As soon as you bring them home from the store, transfer them to a plastic zipper bag and add a little cornstarch. Make sure to stir or shake the marshmallows to coat with the cornstarch. This will keep them from getting sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I made this ice cream for my boyfriend and he absolutely loved it. I found it a little too sweet and the marshmallows got a bit soggy and tasted strange. Perfect chocolate flavour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babooshka76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Not only is this recipe super easy to make, it just might be the best chocolate ice cream I've ever had. I was lent an ice cream machine, so I was looking for a no-fail recipe and this was it. I used 2 cups of half and half (because the machine was fairly small) and added chocolate chips in addition to the nuts and marshmallows. Out of this world!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Soooooo good! You must try it! My husband and little boy, and I all give it 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Just got an ice cream machine for my birthday. This was the first recipe I tried. Worked perfectly. Tastes amazing. Only change was using whole milk instead of light cream because that was all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
DELICIOUS!! I completely recommend this recipe. I read thru a few reviews before & changed/added 2 things: instead of heavy/light cream I used 3c of half & half, and I also added in some chocolate chips. All those who said this recipe was as good as something you get in the store, hit it head on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Very good and easy recipe. My first homemade ice cream and I was really surprised by the smooth and creamy texture. I wasn't sure if I should put the marshmallows, but it was good. Very rich ice cream but if you want a real treat, that's what you need! A little disappointment, I had to leave it in the freezer all night to get it set right... But the wait was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States