Rocky Road Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
After a rocky start (no pun intended), the way this turned out was a pleasant and lucky surprise! As this was churning, it just didn't want to set up as it should and I thought I might be making a trip to the grocery store for the dessert I needed for dinner guests I was having tonight. Even tho' it wasn't nearly as firm or frozen as it should have been, I went ahead and added the pecans and marshmallows anyway, crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. I have no idea why, but several hours in the freezer later, it turned out just fine - smooth, rich and delicious with perfectly balanced chocolate flavor and level of sweetness. I served this in chocolate shells with a drizzle of chocolate syrup and an extra scatter of mini marshmallows and pecans. It was beautiful. And my guests were pleased. (I'll bet one would even have licked her plate if no one was looking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This ice cream is delicious!!! So rich and smooth. I made it for a family gathering and everyone loved it! I will definiately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Quick, easy AND delicous, a winner !! Thx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
So rich and creamy. Everyone is astonished how much better it is than anything bought frozen. Does make 2 quarts. Highly recommend it to chocolate lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Eh. Didn't freeze well in ice cream machine. Then froze too hard in freezer. Flavor was good but everything else was off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Delicious. Recipe perfect for Cuisinart ice cream maker. added chopped Almonds instead of Pecans and omitted marshmellows. YUMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kims Yummies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Very rich and creamy, I love this ice cream!! I added more nuts than specified, other than that it is great as is and it hardened to a perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was the best homemade ice cream I have ever made. I only had large marshmellows so I cut them in small pieces and when it was time to add them, I added them a little at a time and I also used walnuts. A definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiningstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Browns Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was a BIG Hit at our July 4th celebration! I added an additional cup of whole milk to make it go further and I was afraid it would be too rich. It was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Oh my goodness! This was the best homemade chocolate ice cream ever. I used 1 can of condensed milk in place of the 1 cup of light cream and it worked out well. I did cut up the marshmallows into smaller bits so that they would distribute more evenly. Some homemade ice creams aren't as good after they've been in the freezer for a day or two, but this was just as good. Definitely will make that recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States