Rocky Road Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I make a lot of ice cream and the first odd thing I noticed in this recipe was the instruction to mix the dry cocoa into the pot w/the thick, sweetened condensed milk. It was hard to mix and harder still to get smooth once the liquid cream mixture had to be incorporated. Next time I followed my own better instincts and mixed the dry cocoa into the lukewarm liquid cream mixture FIRST. Effortless. And no nasty lumps. So that is my only criticism of this recipe and my strong recommendation. Someone else mentioned that problem as well. The choc. flavor is just right, not overbearing. I didn't have light cream, so I mixed half cup of heavy cream w/half cup of Half and Half--voila, light cream. Someone else mentioned using evaporated milk, good idea, bc it has a thick consistency which is needed. Overall, good recipe if you add cocoa to the lukewarm liquids first; then add the amt of nuts, marshmallows, choc chips to your own personal preference and not take the recipe amts as gospel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Loved this recipe and plan to use it again! I used Dark cocoa powder instead of regular unsweetened because I like the richness of the darker chocolate. I had the same problems with it freezing in my ice cream maker, but a few hours in my freezer got it to the way I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Delicious and very easy to make. Made for 4th of July, it was loved by all. Made the cream the night before, let sit for almost 24 hours (always do this w/ homemade, it enhances the flavor). Got cream going in electric IC maker, added nuts & marshmallows 10 minutes into it. After 25 min it was ready, and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I just got my Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker..yeah!!! I am so excited as this is my very first attempt at making homemade ice cream, and I decided to try it because my husband LOVES LOVES Rocky Road Ice Cream!! He was so thrilled and couldn't wait to eat the ice cream. I used Darigold half and half in place of heavy and light cream to ease up on the fat content. I followed the rest of the recipe and waited while the ice cream maker processed the ice cream. Even though my ice cream maker didn't make a solid rock hard ice cream, I was pleasantly surprised at how this turned out, slightly firm yet pliable enough. I just put the rest of the ice cream in the freezer to firm up the consistency a bit more and for flavors to blend, about 1 hour or so. In the end, a wonderfully, rich chocolately Rocky Road Ice Cream! I can see the potential to build upon this recipe and add other ingredients to this. This recipe made a good amount for my hubby until it runs out which I suspect will be very soon. Who would of thought you could make rich creamy ice cream right here at home? I cannot wait to make other ice creams, sorbets, yogurts...Now if I can just find a recipe for Almonds Prailines and Cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
FANTASTIC!!!!! I made this today with my new ice cream maker! So Good! It was the perfect soft serve consistency. I used 2 cups heavy cream and 1 cup half and half. I also added toffee chips and choclate covered almonds! Superb!!! Will use again and again....:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I've made this recipe as a base now for about 6 or 7 batches and all but once did it not turn out the way I expected. This was due to me not cooling the batter to 40 or lower before putting it in my ice cream maker. I've done things like adding a shattered dark chocolate bar to the mix, marshemellows (need to be frozen to work right IMO), pecans and cashews as well as the standard dark chocolate chips. As for the cocoa, I always use the Ghirardelli cocoa as i'm not a huge fan of Hershey and my wife loves this ice cream. Which is unique as she's never been a fan of chocolate ice cream. Highly recommended and easy to make recipe that I will use as a base for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I made this one Saturday morning for the kiddos and it was gobbled up. Very delicious!! Great recipe. I did use Half and Half - it was cheaper - but it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This ice cream was rich and creamy and so much better than anything you will find in the store. It came together easily and froze nicely in my ice cream freezer, followed by my stand freezer. It was gone in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
AWESOME! I used almonds instead of pecans and used 1 1/2 c. half & half and 1 1/2 c. heavy cream. Soooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hhfowler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claxton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I liked the flavor of this ice cream, but I think almonds would have been better than pecans. I will make again using chopped almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States