Rocky Road Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly as written. I mixed it for 15 minutes, added the nuts (used slivered almonds instead of pecans because that is what I had on hand) and then mixed for another 15 minutes using the Cuisinart 2 qt ice cream machine. After 30 minutes the mixture was the consistency of soup! I was nervous but stuck it in the freezer overnight and the next day it was perfect. This recipe is a great method that can be used to create many flavor combinations. We will be using this one a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I've been making ice cream with my 2 qt cuisinart ice cream maker for a couple of years now and this is by far the best recipe I've tried. This was the first time I've used the sweetened condensed milk and no eggs. I think I'm going to adapt this technique to all future recipes. The ice cream came out rich and thick and still scoopable. The texture was perfect, too. It was so easy blending the chocolate this way versus the double boiler and chunk chocolate. I would compare this to ice cream I've had at some of the more premium ice cream shops, e.g. the Marble Slab or Haagen Daaz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
For those of you who have complained about this not setting up well enough, you probably didn't add enough rock salt to your ice while it was churning. I also used half and half in place of the cream, and it was fantastic! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
So. Good. Seriously, it is divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatshepsut28

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Great recipe! But cut up the mini marshmallows so they spread more evenly into the icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berry sweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I made this twice and it was a real Hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Great! Just fyi the recipe does not make a large quantity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is the BEST ice cream recipe I have found. I tried the egg ones what a waste of time and money. I just love this one. Thanks sooooooooooooooo much for posting. Made just chocolate going to try Strawberry next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
OH, MY, GOODNESS! This is some good ice cream!! Don't make the mistake of not staying with the chocolate mixture as you are cooking it... it turns into fudge. :) Second try was perfect and this ice cream is sinfully decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I make a lot of ice cream and the first odd thing I noticed in this recipe was the instruction to mix the dry cocoa into the pot w/the thick, sweetened condensed milk. It was hard to mix and harder still to get smooth once the liquid cream mixture had to be incorporated. Next time I followed my own better instincts and mixed the dry cocoa into the lukewarm liquid cream mixture FIRST. Effortless. And no nasty lumps. So that is my only criticism of this recipe and my strong recommendation. Someone else mentioned that problem as well. The choc. flavor is just right, not overbearing. I didn't have light cream, so I mixed half cup of heavy cream w/half cup of Half and Half--voila, light cream. Someone else mentioned using evaporated milk, good idea, bc it has a thick consistency which is needed. Overall, good recipe if you add cocoa to the lukewarm liquids first; then add the amt of nuts, marshmallows, choc chips to your own personal preference and not take the recipe amts as gospel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States