Rocky Road Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I tweaked the recipe and it actually turned out wanted I had wanted in the first place a vanilla rocky road. i had searched on here for vanilla rocky road and other sites. i got tired of searching so gave in and decide to make it this way: chocolate. but I did not want to do the stove thing so I just melted chocolate bars to stir in(thinking melted chocolate would mix in with the cream and milk. so I microwaved the chocolate, but it would not mixin. Thinking this looks good this way I added walnut whole (again as shortcut measure, not wanting to chop) and the marshmallows. I think we all in my home have a new favorite. even doubled it was gone in one sitting. We could not stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly as written. I mixed it for 15 minutes, added the nuts (used slivered almonds instead of pecans because that is what I had on hand) and then mixed for another 15 minutes using the Cuisinart 2 qt ice cream machine. After 30 minutes the mixture was the consistency of soup! I was nervous but stuck it in the freezer overnight and the next day it was perfect. This recipe is a great method that can be used to create many flavor combinations. We will be using this one a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I've been making ice cream with my 2 qt cuisinart ice cream maker for a couple of years now and this is by far the best recipe I've tried. This was the first time I've used the sweetened condensed milk and no eggs. I think I'm going to adapt this technique to all future recipes. The ice cream came out rich and thick and still scoopable. The texture was perfect, too. It was so easy blending the chocolate this way versus the double boiler and chunk chocolate. I would compare this to ice cream I've had at some of the more premium ice cream shops, e.g. the Marble Slab or Haagen Daaz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
For those of you who have complained about this not setting up well enough, you probably didn't add enough rock salt to your ice while it was churning. I also used half and half in place of the cream, and it was fantastic! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
So. Good. Seriously, it is divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Hasten Jarovsky

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Great recipe! But cut up the mini marshmallows so they spread more evenly into the icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berry sweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I made this twice and it was a real Hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Great! Just fyi the recipe does not make a large quantity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is the BEST ice cream recipe I have found. I tried the egg ones what a waste of time and money. I just love this one. Thanks sooooooooooooooo much for posting. Made just chocolate going to try Strawberry next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
OH, MY, GOODNESS! This is some good ice cream!! Don't make the mistake of not staying with the chocolate mixture as you are cooking it... it turns into fudge. :) Second try was perfect and this ice cream is sinfully decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States