Rocky Road Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
FINALLY,, a homemade ice cream recipe that is both easy and delicious. I first made it using coconut milk instead of the cream and it was delicious... this is an excellent base if u leave off the chocolate,, I just made strawberry ice cream by leaving out the chocolate, using milk instead of cream and adding about a cup of pureed strawberries,, YUMMY, my son says it is better then store bought.. I am planning peach ice cream next and it is so easy to make, if ur not using cocoa u don't have to even heat anything,, THANK you for posting this...I see a lot of different ice creams in my future..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Probably the best chocolate base recipe I've ever tasted...my family is addicted to it! I made it once without the nuts and with the addition of a fudge ripple, still amazing! Try it, you will not be disappointed. Didn't have light cream so increased the heavy cream to 2 1/2 cups and used 1/2 cup of whole milk...this is not the recipe you want to try to cut calories on! I DID use a very good quality Mexican vanilla paste instead of the extract; a quality vanilla makes a bigger difference than most people think. My next experiment with the chocolate base will be to find a good raspberry ripple recipe, and try it with that...(I love chocolate & raspberry together)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Swartz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
THE BEST chocolate ice cream recipe!!! I'm not a huge fan of the marshmallows or nuts so I use the chocolate ice cream as a base and add all kids of goodies: pralined pecans, shaved dark, milk, or white chocolate, peanut butter cups....anything you want. SO DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
YUM!! Made this the other night. It's a keeper! Very rich flavor!! The base is great by itself - I anticipate endless possibilities!!!! And no egg needed!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
So deliciously creamy...kept wishing I could compare it to a commercial ice cream, but the reality was that it was no comparison! I did use almonds other than pecans as that is what I know traditional Rocky Road to be...I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! I made the base mostly as written, only used low fat condensed milk and 1 C cream, 2 C fat free half and half. Still very rich and creamy! I decided to make S'mores ice cream instead of rocky road, so added marshmallows, mini chocolate chips, and graham cracker pieces at the end. Thank you for the recipe, everyone here loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I really like this receipe. Too much vanilla for my girls, but I thought it made it better. I say it's right up there with Braums Ice Cream! Will definately make this my go to chocolate icecream receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I am going to preface this by stating that I don't exactly care for chocolate ice cream so my opinion may not be relevant. I thought this was too chocolate-y. It needed to be toned down, but if you like a strong chocolate flavor than this one is for you. I did like that I didn't have to add eggs though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I've made this multiple times and it's delicious every single time! Our family loves this recipe and if it didn't disappear so quickly, I'd make it more often.. Sadly, I just can't keep up with how fast this is eaten. I don't change a thing! Although, if I can't find light cream.. I will sometimes sub half and half. It does it's job just fine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyRJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was ok - not the best chocolate base in my opinion. I think I'll continue to look for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States