Rocky Road Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This was soooo good! The texture and flavor were perfect. The second batch, I was low on regular cocoa powder and added a bit of the Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa Powder to make up the rest. Delish! LOVE dark chocolate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Quite possibly the best-tasting ice-cream I have ever had. I made it exactly as it said and it came out perfect, albeit a little soft. After about 30 minutes in the freezer, it was perfect! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
a little bit of work but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DNJTWIGG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is such a simple but delicious recipe. Of course, I only waited 2 hours into hardening to dig in. I am sure it will be just as wonderful after it hardens overnight. I added milk chocolate chips along with the nuts and marshmallows. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mangum, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
The base for this recipe is FANTASTIC. We have made several variations of this by adding different "extras" including semi-sweet chips, chopped Whoppers, marshmallow fluff (warm it before adding so it doesn't clump), and toffee chips. We now keep a can of sweetened condensed milk on hand all the time "just in case".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
OMG! delicious! I couldn't stop eating it. Even with the condensed milk it wasn't too sweet. I use this as a base for all my chocolate ice cream recipes. Don't use it for vanilla unless you like a extremely sweet vanilla flavour though. Becuase this is chocolate it covers that up. In fact I cut the vailla in half for it but you don't have to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This one hit out of the ball park! The flavor and texture is dead on. Used half and half instead of the cream. My husband has never had rocky road due to severe tree nut allergies, so we made this with peanuts instead. Tastes just like Dreyers/Breyers but better because I can put anything I want in it. Will try it again with a shot of espresso and bits of snicker bars....mmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geppetto DeVitis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This recipe is by far the best ice cream recipe available anywhere! I love Dreyer's Rocky Road and only Dreyer's Rocky Road, but this has quickly gone to number one in my book! I used all the ingredients suggested, but did not heat up the condensed milk/cocoa mixture. Instead, I mixed all the ingredients (minus the marshmallows and nuts) in a large bowl with a whisk for about 4 minutes, then dumped the mixture immediately into the ice cream maker container. After about 20 minutes in the ice cream maker, I like to add the marshmallows, either pecans or almonds, and 1 cup of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. The chocolate chips add a nice chocolaty crunch to every bite! And if you want the best recipe for rich, creamy vanilla ice cream, just leave out the cocoa powder, nuts, and marshmallows in this recipe. What you're left with is the best vanilla ice cream I've ever had, served best with a warm piece of Grandma Ople's Apple Pie...a recipe you can also find here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Mittendorf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This made me look like a rock star! I made the recipe using half and half in place of the light/heavy cream. I threw everything but the nuts/marshmellows into my ice cream maker for 30 minutes. Then I poured it into a container and mixed in the nuts and marshmellows. I froze the mixture overnight and could barely wait to try it the next day. It turned great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Sublime. The base of chocolate ice cream is the perfect flavour. So creamy and delicious. I used double cream and thickened cream for the light. I finely chopped up a block of Cadbury's rocky road chocolate, added a few unsalted crushed nuts and mini mallows and chopped 3/4 very finely up until I filled up two cups. The other 1/4 of chocolate, nuts and mallow I left a little bit more chunky. Very rich, but could easily rival an overpriced ice cream at the shops. No eggs as well!!@! This is great because there is no custard, no taste of egg and for some reason it freezes so much better and the method could not be easier, really, all you have to do is stir in some cream. You could easily leave out the cocoa if you wanted a different flavour and leave it vanilla and add chopped white chocolate and cranberry bits. In fact, I'm kind of inspired by this method to create a pavlova flavoured ice cream with vanilla base, chunks of meringue, strawberry swirl and chunks of berry. Easy, easy, easy - you have to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States