Rocky Road Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
This is hands down the best chocolate ice cream I've ever made. My family is not crazy about nuts so I only add mini-marshmallows. As another reviewer mentioned for some reason it doesn't seem like it's freezing very solid when it churns. After some additional time in the freezer it sets up perfectly. Thanks for a delicious treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Delicious! The only change I made was I added 1 cup of milk. This makes about a half gallon. So if you want a whole gallon, then double the recipe. We definitely make this again! Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I made this for the 4th of July, but my daughter and I may eat it all before then (2 days from now).I decided to use all 1% milk rather than any of the creams. It's still setting up, but I know it is delicious and will only get better. A few concerns: The cocoa/condensed milk is very hard to keep from lumping. Maybe use an immersion blender at the end to smooth it out. I didn't, but I'm sure you could. I toasted the pecans and used generous portions of those and the marshmallows. I put it right into the electric ice cream maker. I think next time I'll put the mixture in the frig for a few hours to start it out cold. Seems to take a long time to thicken and didn't really get as thick as other ice creams I make. It is delcious though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myrajf@gmail.com

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Disappointing. The flavor was not great. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I rarely leave a review, whether good or bad, but this is review worthy as it is outstanding! My 7 year old and I just made a batch for after dinner tonight and we can't keep our spoons out of it. It is a wonderful recipe that doesn't require making a custard and the base recipe seems as if a person could incorporate many different flavors. It is a very kid friendly recipe too. This is most definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Didn't change a thing! Great ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
We love love love this recipe. I've made it more times than I want to admit and ate every bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
My favorite ice cream is Baskin Robbins rocky road. However, there is no Baskin Robbins nearby any longer so I thought I'd try this in the ice cream maker I recently got. It was fabulous! I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa and whole toasted almonds rather than pecans. Doesn't get much better than this! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
The best ice cream I have ever eaten! Everybody who has had some say the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickerz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorena
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
As I always do with homemade ice cream, I divide the ice cream into individual containers before freezing. Otherwise we banter about whose turn it is to scoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States