Rocky Road Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I love this cake! I bring this to people who are sick or had a baby and the size is perfect. The first time I made it I was out of white sugar so substitute brown sugar and I was so happy with the slight caramel flavor that I make it with brown sugar now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I made this for my nephew who is allergic to milk and compared to his other dairy free cakes, this was excellent!! I sifted the dry mixture only once, and baked as directed. Crumbly as I would expect a cake like this to be, but a very yummy version of dairy free cake!! Didn't make the frosting this round (the cake alone was yummy), but will definitely try it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Fantastic cake!!! I love the idea and it was a big hit with everyone! I doubled the cake recipe and baked it in a 9" tin. I did not need to double the frosting. It melted well and spread easily over the cake. I sprinkled the cake with mini marshmallows, white and chocolate chocolate chips. The topping set nicely and held the topping in place. I will be making this again. It was very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
MAKE THIS CAKE! It was VERY easy, and the glaze/frosting was simple and came out delicious as well, though sweet, which IMHO, is a good thing. Best cake of this type I've had in a long time. Okay, so I confess I didn't sift anything. I did use a whisk to try and blend the dry ingredients, but I'm no pastry chef, so maybe that is supposed to do something, but the cake was amazing anyway. I plan to use the glaze on other cakes. It set up pretty quickly, and would work on many other cakes. I also think I may double the cake recipe but not the glaze next time, and bake in a 9x13 pan. I think I may also try without the marshmallows. DISCLAIMER: I do not, as a general rule, like chocolate cake. That being said, this one was absolutely delicious! Thanks for the recipe LEESON71!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherryLime

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My recipe calls it "Crazy Cake". It is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musicmomto4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
WOW!! Absolutely amazing. I made a few changes though because I was out of cocoa - I melted 3 squares of unsweetened chocolate then only used 2 tbsp of oil instead of 5 and made cupcakes. Very chocolately and moist. I then made a marshmallow creme frosting, piped it in the center and on top of the cupcake. Definitely going to keep this recipe, very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geckofur

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by kayla
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was amazing , although I did not fold in marshmallows I layered them with the icing as I poured it over created a much nicer look. This was a delicious dessert and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This was so moist and very good- I did add chopped walnuts to the frosting since thats what I know as Rocky Road with the marshmallows and nuts- The cake was and frosting however were fabulous I was skeptical of the vinegar but did use it. I intend to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made this cake on the weekend. Very dense I made it in 2 9in pans but next time I will buy the marshmallows as this was a long process and they did not set well perhaps because it was a wet day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I actually made it as written for my daughters birthday. We all loved it but it is very rich. Next time I make this I plan on stirring some marshmallows into the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States