Rocky Road Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
WOW!! Absolutely amazing. I made a few changes though because I was out of cocoa - I melted 3 squares of unsweetened chocolate then only used 2 tbsp of oil instead of 5 and made cupcakes. Very chocolately and moist. I then made a marshmallow creme frosting, piped it in the center and on top of the cupcake. Definitely going to keep this recipe, very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geckofur

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My recipe calls it "Crazy Cake". It is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musicmomto4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
MAKE THIS CAKE! It was VERY easy, and the glaze/frosting was simple and came out delicious as well, though sweet, which IMHO, is a good thing. Best cake of this type I've had in a long time. Okay, so I confess I didn't sift anything. I did use a whisk to try and blend the dry ingredients, but I'm no pastry chef, so maybe that is supposed to do something, but the cake was amazing anyway. I plan to use the glaze on other cakes. It set up pretty quickly, and would work on many other cakes. I also think I may double the cake recipe but not the glaze next time, and bake in a 9x13 pan. I think I may also try without the marshmallows. DISCLAIMER: I do not, as a general rule, like chocolate cake. That being said, this one was absolutely delicious! Thanks for the recipe LEESON71!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherryLime

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Loved, loved, loved the cake but made more of a whipped icing the second time as I found this a bit too heavy for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
The cake came out well-it baked up nicely and had a nice dark chocolatey taste. The icing however, was too sweet for the cake and adding it kind of ruined the cake eating experience for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Frankie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Fantastic cake!!! I love the idea and it was a big hit with everyone! I doubled the cake recipe and baked it in a 9" tin. I did not need to double the frosting. It melted well and spread easily over the cake. I sprinkled the cake with mini marshmallows, white and chocolate chocolate chips. The topping set nicely and held the topping in place. I will be making this again. It was very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is a definite kid/teen pleaser. My kids would have given this 10 stars if they could have. My husband and I found it so-so and gave it 3 stars. It is super easy to make. I may not make it for us again, but it will be made for my kids and their friends for sure. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I love this cake! I bring this to people who are sick or had a baby and the size is perfect. The first time I made it I was out of white sugar so substitute brown sugar and I was so happy with the slight caramel flavor that I make it with brown sugar now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I made this for my nephew who is allergic to milk and compared to his other dairy free cakes, this was excellent!! I sifted the dry mixture only once, and baked as directed. Crumbly as I would expect a cake like this to be, but a very yummy version of dairy free cake!! Didn't make the frosting this round (the cake alone was yummy), but will definitely try it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This was so moist and very good- I did add chopped walnuts to the frosting since thats what I know as Rocky Road with the marshmallows and nuts- The cake was and frosting however were fabulous I was skeptical of the vinegar but did use it. I intend to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States