Rocky Mountain Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I loved this recipe, although my husband (who prefers a stronger and spicier flavor) wasn't as thrilled. We didn't have Worcestershire so we used some soy, added spinach, and cut up a regular onion instead. I also forgot the flour, which I'll put in next time. It was very tasty and we'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Not too shabby! Came out a little too thick for our taste, and we didn't even use all of the flour....so I don't know what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This stew was so yummy! I never can seem to get my seasoning just right for stew but this was perfect. I used diced onion cooked along with the beef, just not sure my kids would have been a fan of pearl onions. I used canned peas at the end just a preference. This will be my new go to recipe for stew! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Fantastic!!!! Everyone loved this stew. I`ll use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is a very nice basic stew recipe. Easy to prepare and very tasty going down. I modified it a bit. I confess that one of my pet peeves is people who modify recipes beyond recogniition. But I believe in being flexible too, so, here are my modifications: First, I browned the beef with olive oil and added a little salt and white pepper to the beef while browning. I didn't dredge the beef in flour prior to browning because that would interfere with caramelizing the sugars in the beef. Second, the can of pearl onions did not sound appetizing to me, so I picked some pearl onions out of my garden and added them to the beef while browning it to caramelize them, bring out their flavor, and add to the flavor and texture of the gravy. Third, I added two beef bullion cubes to the 3 cups of water and cut back on the salt. I also used sea salt. Fourth, I cut the potatoes and carrots a little smaller to suit my taste. Fifth, I added just a lttle fresh rosemary and thyme out of my garden to it to add a little more wild flavor. Sixth, I added the peas about 5 minutes before thickening the gravy. It was delicious, and the leftovers held up well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Comfort food at its best! I coated the beef in flour before cooking it and omitted the peas (just don't like them). Since I coated the beef in flour, I did not need to add flour later. I did, as a result of coating the beef in flour, have to add water a couple of times to maintain the sauce consistency. Good stuff Maynard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
To make the stew thicker, toss your meat with the flour BEFORE you brown the meat (I used 1/2 cup). Make sure your oil is hot (flour will bubble away when you sprinkle a little in it) before adding meat. I also added diced onions during this step instead of the pearl onions later. After the floured meat is browned, I then added water and followed the recipe as written. The stew was the perfect color and consistancy when made this way. As far as taste, it was great all except for the peas. They were a little overwhelming in flavor. I think it may have been better to have them cook a little longer so the flavors would mingle better. Or maybe use canned peas which don't have quite as intense of a flavor as the frozen variety I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
OMG!! This stew really hit the spot and it was SO EASY!! I subtracted the onions (not a fan) and added a package of Lipton Beefy Onion soup mix. My husband was one happy boy after this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Yummy! Used fresh onion instead but other than that didn't change a thing. It reminds me of the stew my mum used ot make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
good filling winter nourishment - for a budget dinner i used stewing steak, a lower temperature and cooked a little longer. the paprika gives it that bit extra that made the family ask for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States