Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Great canning recipe for those who like a bit more kick. I have a sweet salsa recipe and was looking for one my husband might like better, and this was it! Loved it and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Taste is fantastic. family wondered why in the world I was spending 10 hrs on my feet to make something we can get at walmart for a few dollars. Cause it's ROCKIN! They agreed- it turned out great and we ate a lot fresh. This was a fun way to use up extra produce from the garden. I'm completely new to canning but it wasn't hard. Instead of cooking off the water I ladled it out carefully so as not to pick up the chunks. Worked like a charm. But (I'm very frugal) I saved the juice and made "taco soup" with it later. To the salsa I also added chopped fresh oregano & parsley from the garden, and more cumin b/c we like that flavor. Tomato paste is essential- makes it thick and rich. I had no idea what "6 lbs" of tomatoes was b/c we had no scale... I "guesstemated" But later discovered this to be a dangerous thing in canning. Tomatoes provide the acid that kills Clostridium botulinum (the little anaerobic buggers that make the tasteless toxin responsible for deadly Botulism) thus having the right proportion to the low-acid onions and peppers is ESSENTIAL. Learning after the fact, I had a mild freak-out b/c I had added extra onions (we grew A LOT) & extra peppers to my batch. I ended up throwing out all my hard work which, as a frugal woman was EXTREMELY painful. But...this was NOT the recipes fault, this was MY fault. I had to write this in the review to save my fellow newbies from a similar mistake. FOLLOW THE RECIPE! Or use a pressure canner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Very good salsa recipe. I canned my salsa and it turned out excellent. It started out a bit too sweet for my taste, but the flavors blended better after it was in the refrigerator for a couple of days. I will definitely made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trufant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
omg, this is the best salsa i have tasted.husband said it was very good but to sweet. everybody loves it. will not change a thing. it a 10 or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Delicious!! I cut back the cayenne pepper a little to make it less spicy. I don't think I can ever eat store bought salsa anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This is by far the best salsa I have ever made. I really love the amount of heat it has. I can't stand sweet salsa and this has just the right amount. I made it exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Celina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This salsa is the best! It is a perfect mix of sweet and spicy. Everyone that has tried it wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
The recipe I have been looking for! I have already made 3 turns of it and plan to make more. I think it is comparable in heat to a medium salsa you would buy at the store. I used a 12 oz. can of paste because it was all I had and it turned out thick enough. I also used 3 regular onions. We have enjoyed it with chips and it will be great with Mexican dishes. Too spicy for the kids so I may try a batch with very little cayenne. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I've given several jars away and have been requested to give out more. Wonderful job Tami! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
The name is perfect, because it rocks. The best recipe for salsa yet.I made my first batch today and it's the best. I am looking no further for the perfect salsa, I got it. I'm calling it Salsa Sunday.Thanks Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States