Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I made a half batch, due to fact I didn't have enough fresh onions or tomatoes. as called for. I substituted 4 jalapenos(deseeded) & combined cumin with green cilantro. I also added can puree & small can tomato sauce to make up for shortage of fresh tomatoes. The above recipe didn't call for any jalapenos; sorry but Banana peppers just don't cut it for heat, that's primary reason for 3 star. Will have to make the full recipe next time, but still skip banana peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Amazing flavour but I would omit the sugar completely or put 1/8 of what the recipe says. I have a sweet tooth and I found this too much, Other than that I would use more spice (my preference, I love things spicy). Dice/chop things on your preference of chunkiness. I found that the bigger the tomato, (don't bother peeling), the chunkier the salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Whelpton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Personally a little hot for my palate -- but fam loves it. Did add corn and used chiliflakes as hot peppers n/a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara Coote Freeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I loved this recipe! This was my first time every making salsa and it turned out great. I do think the amount of time suggested for cooking was really long as it thickened up a bit too much for my husband's liking. A friend also made salsa at the same time I did and brought it into work to share. Shhhhhhhh but this recipe way better!!! This is my go to recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
excellent and I have now turned my daughter in law into making and canning salsa ..a big step
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This recipe was great. Wife and kids loved it. The only changes that I made was not putting any sugar or brown sugar and I put 8 tablespoons of the cayenne peppers because we like it spicy. I like the fact that you have canning directions too. I have never canned before and it was simple to do following your directions. Thank you for sharing that fantastic recipe for others to try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Best recipe I have found period! I can this and hand out to a select few friends and they have become addicted. The key is the long cook with a perfect blend of ingredients. Addicted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
very good, only put in half the sugar and i really regret it, I don't like even a hint of sweet in my salsa....next time NO SUGAR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I am not a salsa dip person, mainly cause I don't like spicy food, I didn't use the cayenne pepper, and half what it called for of the banana peppers, and it's perfect, just to my liking. My boys love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is an awesome salsa. It is a sweet salsa recipe. 3 pints were eaten within 2 days by my family it is so good. If you dip your veggies in this you will eat them and not miss chips. It is also a thick salsa however I squeezed, seeded and drained my tomatoes. Used Roma in 3 batches and regular round ones in second 3 batches. The round ones needed a lot of squeezing and did not yield as much do to being a more watery tomato. Both types of tomatoes made a good salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Chef John's Nectarine Salsa

You've got to try this sweet and spicy fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States