Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Delicious. Weighed 6 pounds at the green grocers = 20 medium sized tomatoes. Used fresh garlic (5 chopped cloves) and 3T of brown sugar and 2T white sugar. Will reduce sugar to 1T each next time. Made 6 1/2 pints. Next time will be soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I'm a newbie at canning so wasn't sure about quantity of ingredients, duh. Small peppers, onions? Med? Lg? So i guesstimated and for other newbies I ended up with 3 c onion (per other reviewer), no room for the yellow, 3 cups assorted peppers from garden but could've added another cup i think. Everything else was the same. The salsa is excellent, definately a medium, NOT mild, not runny or to thick but yielded only 4 1/2 pints. A lot of time for so little but very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Family, and friends love this salsa, and so I have made many batches over the last couple of years. I have even made it during the winter months using 6 pounds of canned Roma tomatoes. I chop the whole tomatoes up, and then let them drain for about an hour. I researched to see if it was safe to use canned, rather than fresh. It is, but simmer time, I have reduced to 15 minutes so that the canned tomatoes do not turn to mush. The flavor, and texture is still great. After opening a jar, I add a fresh tomato or two if I have them on hand. Just wanted to share this idea! Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
cut out half the sugar and still a bit sweet for the men but I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Love Love Love this salsa! And so do all my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
YUM 3 cups onions--mix sweet, white and yellow, 2 1/2 cups peppers all colors. Used 4 habaneros, no pepper flakes. Added cilantro. Made 4 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Amazing salsa! I used 2 red onions and 2 white onions, 1 red pepper and 1 green pepper, this is seriously the best salsa I have ever made, it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was my first experience with the hot water bath process and I found these instructions to be easy to follow. The ingredients in this recipe are versatile enough to change up. I don't care for bell peppers so I used 6 banana peppers and one jalapeno. We like our salsa sweet, so I kept the sugar as stated in the recipe. There wasn't quite enough to get a full 8 pints, so we kept out the last bit (almost a pint). Wanted to try it right away anyway - it was gone in 15 minutes! We love it! Probably won't change anything the next time I make it, which will be soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mispirit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This salsa is the best I have made. I did change the recipe a little. I took out the white sugar as it was just to sweet for my taste, and instead of the cheyenne I used fresh hot peppers to the heat I wanted. Either way you do it, it is very good. Make more than you think you will need, cause it will go fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Ok here is my only warning, I changed a few things and after 6 batches here is my current, onions same, tomatoes same, I have used sweet peppers and banana same amount little difference, 1 8 oz can paste, 2T apple cider vinegar, adds sweet to allow for less sugar, and it also keeps levels ok for canning, 5 cloves chopped garlic, salt same, sub red crushed pepper for cayenne, 1/2t cumin, 3T brown sugar, 2T white, now the big changer is yellow bell peppers they are sweeter and to me less dirty tasting,(all peppers =around 2 1/2 cups) and 1 T lemon juice. I add jalapeno peppers 2 omit the seeds for milder, buy pickled for milder yet. We also like 1t cilantro. Here is the thing I have found.... The type of tomato changes the salsa more than anything. I made my 1st batch with sweeter tomatoes (I exclude some sugar 1T of each I think is what I used with sweeter tomatoes), and my last with late season seconds they are from one end of the spectrum of sweet to the other overly tomato tasting... Keep this in mind. Also there is no need to cook for 3 hours, I cook anywhere from 20 min to 1 hour based on what I am doing (2 little children distract me) remember your hot bath cooks this too. And if you grind with a hand held mixer there is no need to simmer flavor away. The longer it cooks the more it changes taste to me. As a previous person commented it only takes a hot bath 10 min to process, but some stoves it takes 20 to 45 min to get to a good boil, so remember this also!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States