Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
to runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I have made this salsa 5 times, doubling it the last 4 as it was so good! I have friends that beg for jars of it, one who will eat a one litre whole jar in two days! I misread the recipe the first time i made it and bought a jalapeno pepper to put into it instead of banana peppers - i didn't want to waste all my chopping work so added half the pepper diced up and reduced the cayenne pepper to half...it was a home run! I have made it to the recipe once (just to see what the original was like) and 2 more times with the jalapeno - and the "mistake" version is my most requested but both are awesome. I have also added a mix of yellow, red and orange peppers instead of the green, added all of the sugar and replaced the yellow onion with more white and red - and it was a different flavor each time but was really good too. This is a very flexible and forgiving recipe which i know i will make over and over and over - planning my garden around it for next summer!! Thank you! Well two years later and i STILL get friends offering to buy any salsa i make. I did plant a salsa garden this year and my first doubled batch is canned and being eaten already! I added a full jalapeno and a habenaro pepper to a regular recipe and can't wait for the ones who like hot to try it. For the garlic lovers, i added a tsp of minced garlic and doubled the garlic powder to an earlier batch to give it a really strong but tasty garlic presence. I am being asked to do that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very good but I cut the sugar in half and added cilantro. Otherwise it would have been way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Great recipe! This is my first time canning salsa and it turned out very successful. I made a few alterations based on some other reviews. I made a TRIPLE batch. I omitted the sugar, added 6 cloves of minced garlic, 3 jalapenos. At the end of cooking for an hour I added 1/4 cup lime, 1/4 cup lemon, and a tube of cilantro paste. Turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Awesome salsa! I stayed pretty much with the recipe as written except used 5 garlic cloves instead of powder and lemon juice in place of the vinegar. I was going to cut down on the sugar, but after my daughter taste tested and I ended up using the exact amount called for. No more fine tuning, perfect...will definitely make this salsa often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
excellent! I have gotten many compliments on the salsa. My mother-in-law even called me up to tell me how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
My girlfriend called to ask me for a recipe for salsa and I just happened to pick this recipe. My friend called to tell me that this was the best salsa ever - her significant other could not get enough of it and had just finished eating a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
The best salsa from allrecipes so far...cut back on the sugar, half of each was plenty. Added 4 jalapenos, 2 with seeds and cut back on the cayenne to please all the non "hot salsa lovers"...was perfect! I could add more heat for the "hot batch" no problem with more cayenne or hot peppers...good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peeper burger

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Awesome salsa! Been canning it for a couple years now an its amazing every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I bit sweet for my taste. I made my 2nd batch with less sugar. Much better. I used 3 green peppers and 2 jalapenos. Just 2 onions. This made 8 pints of salsa using romas. I simmered 1 hour and it was thick enough for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States