Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I've been making this for a couple of years now, and I love it! I do tweak the ingredients and quantities a bit based on what I have available. I grow jalapenos and portugal peppers here in NH every year, so I use those, as well as sweet peppers. I use red or white onions, and I add extra seasonings. I've found that apple cider vinegar and lemon juice work just as well as white vinegar. I also agree with other reviewers who reduced the amount of sugar. This is an amazing recipe, and one I will continue to make for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluegrassgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I made this twice, once as directed, it was too sweet, the second time I omitted the sugar, and the tomato paste, and just added a few more tomatoes. also the second time I used Jalapeno peppers, and not the banana peppers. the tomatoes and Jalapeno peppers came from my garden. I did not need the cayenne pepper when I added the Jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was good!! I made several jars. It was my first time canning, I also added some extra lemon juice since it is required when canning tomatoes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
As written it was quite mild for me, so I added 1 cup of jalapeños and some jalapeno powder and it was ok, not great. I tried it first without the sugar as I did not want that many carbs, but it was quite bitter. I think the bitterness came from the membranes of the peppers which I left in there, but I'm not positive. The only other place it could be from is the tomato paste, which seems a long shot. I omitted the salt as I am on a low salt diet and even with canned jalapenos it still came to around 50mg per 2 Tbs. serving. Hopefully after it sits awhile it will seem hotter and a bit more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. I'm gonna try with less sugar, though, because people seem to like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
to runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I have made this salsa 5 times, doubling it the last 4 as it was so good! I have friends that beg for jars of it, one who will eat a one litre whole jar in two days! I misread the recipe the first time i made it and bought a jalapeno pepper to put into it instead of banana peppers - i didn't want to waste all my chopping work so added half the pepper diced up and reduced the cayenne pepper to half...it was a home run! I have made it to the recipe once (just to see what the original was like) and 2 more times with the jalapeno - and the "mistake" version is my most requested but both are awesome. I have also added a mix of yellow, red and orange peppers instead of the green, added all of the sugar and replaced the yellow onion with more white and red - and it was a different flavor each time but was really good too. This is a very flexible and forgiving recipe which i know i will make over and over and over - planning my garden around it for next summer!! Thank you! Well two years later and i STILL get friends offering to buy any salsa i make. I did plant a salsa garden this year and my first doubled batch is canned and being eaten already! I added a full jalapeno and a habenaro pepper to a regular recipe and can't wait for the ones who like hot to try it. For the garlic lovers, i added a tsp of minced garlic and doubled the garlic powder to an earlier batch to give it a really strong but tasty garlic presence. I am being asked to do that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very good but I cut the sugar in half and added cilantro. Otherwise it would have been way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Great recipe! This is my first time canning salsa and it turned out very successful. I made a few alterations based on some other reviews. I made a TRIPLE batch. I omitted the sugar, added 6 cloves of minced garlic, 3 jalapenos. At the end of cooking for an hour I added 1/4 cup lime, 1/4 cup lemon, and a tube of cilantro paste. Turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Awesome salsa! I stayed pretty much with the recipe as written except used 5 garlic cloves instead of powder and lemon juice in place of the vinegar. I was going to cut down on the sugar, but after my daughter taste tested and I ended up using the exact amount called for. No more fine tuning, perfect...will definitely make this salsa often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States