Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I have made this salsa 5 times, doubling it the last 4 as it was so good! I have friends that beg for jars of it, one who will eat a one litre whole jar in two days! I misread the recipe the first time i made it and bought a jalapeno pepper to put into it instead of banana peppers - i didn't want to waste all my chopping work so added half the pepper diced up and reduced the cayenne pepper to half...it was a home run! I have made it to the recipe once (just to see what the original was like) and 2 more times with the jalapeno - and the "mistake" version is my most requested but both are awesome. I have also added a mix of yellow, red and orange peppers instead of the green, added all of the sugar and replaced the yellow onion with more white and red - and it was a different flavor but was really good too. This is a very flexible and forgiving recipe which i know i will make over and over and over - planning my garden around it for next summer!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very good but I cut the sugar in half and added cilantro. Otherwise it would have been way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Great recipe! This is my first time canning salsa and it turned out very successful. I made a few alterations based on some other reviews. I made a TRIPLE batch. I omitted the sugar, added 6 cloves of minced garlic, 3 jalapenos. At the end of cooking for an hour I added 1/4 cup lime, 1/4 cup lemon, and a tube of cilantro paste. Turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Awesome salsa! I stayed pretty much with the recipe as written except used 5 garlic cloves instead of powder and lemon juice in place of the vinegar. I was going to cut down on the sugar, but after my daughter taste tested and I ended up using the exact amount called for. No more fine tuning, perfect...will definitely make this salsa often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
excellent! I have gotten many compliments on the salsa. My mother-in-law even called me up to tell me how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
My girlfriend called to ask me for a recipe for salsa and I just happened to pick this recipe. My friend called to tell me that this was the best salsa ever - her significant other could not get enough of it and had just finished eating a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
The best salsa from allrecipes so far...cut back on the sugar, half of each was plenty. Added 4 jalapenos, 2 with seeds and cut back on the cayenne to please all the non "hot salsa lovers"...was perfect! I could add more heat for the "hot batch" no problem with more cayenne or hot peppers...good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peeper burger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Awesome salsa! Been canning it for a couple years now an its amazing every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I bit sweet for my taste. I made my 2nd batch with less sugar. Much better. I used 3 green peppers and 2 jalapenos. Just 2 onions. This made 8 pints of salsa using romas. I simmered 1 hour and it was thick enough for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
GREAT BASIC used FRESH GARLIC 1/2 cup sugar 4 varieties of peppers lime juice 1 lemon juiced thru peep in while cooking EXTRA cumin FRESH basil brought to boil and hot water bath for 10 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States