Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I bit sweet for my taste. I made my 2nd batch with less sugar. Much better. I used 3 green peppers and 2 jalapenos. Just 2 onions. This made 8 pints of salsa using romas. I simmered 1 hour and it was thick enough for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
GREAT BASIC used FRESH GARLIC 1/2 cup sugar 4 varieties of peppers lime juice 1 lemon juiced thru peep in while cooking EXTRA cumin FRESH basil brought to boil and hot water bath for 10 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Delicious. Weighed 6 pounds at the green grocers = 20 medium sized tomatoes. Used fresh garlic (5 chopped cloves) and 3T of brown sugar and 2T white sugar. Will reduce sugar to 1T each next time. Made 6 1/2 pints. Next time will be soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I'm a newbie at canning so wasn't sure about quantity of ingredients, duh. Small peppers, onions? Med? Lg? So i guesstimated and for other newbies I ended up with 3 c onion (per other reviewer), no room for the yellow, 3 cups assorted peppers from garden but could've added another cup i think. Everything else was the same. The salsa is excellent, definately a medium, NOT mild, not runny or to thick but yielded only 4 1/2 pints. A lot of time for so little but very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Family, and friends love this salsa, and so I have made many batches over the last couple of years. I have even made it during the winter months using 6 pounds of canned Roma tomatoes. I chop the whole tomatoes up, and then let them drain for about an hour. I researched to see if it was safe to use canned, rather than fresh. It is, but simmer time, I have reduced to 15 minutes so that the canned tomatoes do not turn to mush. The flavor, and texture is still great. After opening a jar, I add a fresh tomato or two if I have them on hand. Just wanted to share this idea! Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
cut out half the sugar and still a bit sweet for the men but I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Love Love Love this salsa! And so do all my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
YUM 3 cups onions--mix sweet, white and yellow, 2 1/2 cups peppers all colors. Used 4 habaneros, no pepper flakes. Added cilantro. Made 4 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Amazing salsa! I used 2 red onions and 2 white onions, 1 red pepper and 1 green pepper, this is seriously the best salsa I have ever made, it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was my first experience with the hot water bath process and I found these instructions to be easy to follow. The ingredients in this recipe are versatile enough to change up. I don't care for bell peppers so I used 6 banana peppers and one jalapeno. We like our salsa sweet, so I kept the sugar as stated in the recipe. There wasn't quite enough to get a full 8 pints, so we kept out the last bit (almost a pint). Wanted to try it right away anyway - it was gone in 15 minutes! We love it! Probably won't change anything the next time I make it, which will be soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mispirit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States