Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Best recipe I have found period! I can this and hand out to a select few friends and they have become addicted. The key is the long cook with a perfect blend of ingredients. Addicted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
very good, only put in half the sugar and i really regret it, I don't like even a hint of sweet in my salsa....next time NO SUGAR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I am not a salsa dip person, mainly cause I don't like spicy food, I didn't use the cayenne pepper, and half what it called for of the banana peppers, and it's perfect, just to my liking. My boys love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is an awesome salsa. It is a sweet salsa recipe. 3 pints were eaten within 2 days by my family it is so good. If you dip your veggies in this you will eat them and not miss chips. It is also a thick salsa however I squeezed, seeded and drained my tomatoes. Used Roma in 3 batches and regular round ones in second 3 batches. The round ones needed a lot of squeezing and did not yield as much do to being a more watery tomato. Both types of tomatoes made a good salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I made this exactly as directed and I think it's the best salsa ever. No more store bought for this family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I would definately use less tomato paste, but other than that it was sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelso!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I loved this recipe with slight variations...I agree that cooking the veggies for 3 hours is too long. An hour or so is plenty. I added 2 chunks of fresh pineapple for a fruity undertone and slight sweetness, instead of all the sugar. I also added some of the brown sugar, a few tablespoons and a tablespoons of home made maple syrup. It is a nice subtle taste. I also added smoked paprika and some different peppers, but kept the tomatoes the same and I also added fresh sweet corn! I reduced the garlic, since I dislike a garlic aftertaste that lasts overnight. I used fresh, though, not powder. I substituted lime juice for the vinegar and this , combined with the pineapple gave my salsa a very citrus undertone that is nice with a southwest flair. The smoked paprika and roasted peppers added a chipotle component to the salsa. It is a fun recipe to make and to add your own favorite flavors and textures. It allows you to customize your salsa to your own and your family's tastes. A bit sweet with some texture and some smoky goodness is how we like our salsa. All in all a great starter recipe and one I have used twice now. I will use it again next summer. It is a great way to use your garden surplus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet Thompkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The best that I have made, I even put some corn and black beans in one batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I canned a large batch of this mostly following the recipe. In the middle of December in Ohio, I popped open a jar and it tasted just as good as the day I canned it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this, but reduced the amounts of each ingredient because I only wanted enough for my boyfriend and I. It was really good. :) To me, it tastes a lot like the salsa at La Carreta. I didn't have bell peppers or red onion on hand, so I left those out. My boyfriend also requested that it be a little hotter after he taste-tested the salsa I had made, so I added more banana pepper and cayenne, and I also threw in a little white pepper and some tabasco. I really liked it, and I am not a salsa eater. My boyfriend wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halley Jarrett

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Chef John's Nectarine Salsa

You've got to try this sweet and spicy fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States