Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This recipe was FAR from what the other comments say they are! This salsa was SUPER sweet even with the sugars cut in half, was super thick and I think Pace's picante sauce is actually better. Suggestion- No sugar, no tomato paste, and add some spicy peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nate crist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I do love this recipe so I use it every year for using up my garden goodies. I add jalapenos for a bit of heat, swap out the powdered garlic for fresh and omit the brown sugar. S&P to taste. It is requested by friends who ask, "Did you make the salsa this year?".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Really good recipe. I added 1 more banana pepper and simmered for 4 1/2 hrs to let those peppers get a nice slow burn going. Lots of asks for this recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I've made this recipe for the past 2 years and I LOVE it. A few alterations though that I think really make the taste (for me at least)is that I vary the pepper mix. I tend to add jalapenos in place of the green peppers and add more banana peppers to make up the difference. I just like the brighter taste, and I think the spice helps cut the sweetness. The other major change I make is the most crucial, and that's that I get rid of the sugar all together and replace it with maple syrup at a 3/4c maple syrup:1c sugar ratio. The slight smokiness from our maple syrup (home cooked) really seems to complement the peppers and keep the salsa from getting 'candy-like' sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This is by far my favorite salsa recipe!!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I just made this salsa recipe - my new favorite salsa! I used our own home grown tomatoes - a new seedless hybrid variety that proved to be perfect for salsa. Some alterations I made were: I added fresh chopped cilantro, only used 1 white onion, substituted jalapeno peppers for the banana peppers, used 1 green pepper and 1 sweet red pepper, and used 2 - 12 oz cans of tomato paste. I agreed with some of the other reviews that it is a bit too sweet so I added more salt as 1 person suggested. This salsa has a wonderful blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I used this recipe last year for my salsa. I made 75 pints of it. I still have a little left just enough to carry over until I start to make it again with this recipe. I drained the juice off of some and not on some for husband. I like it thicker than he does. This is the best recipe I found so far!! I took some to work and my friends loved it. The word of how wonderful my salsa was went around the factory really fast. I even had people asking to buy it. THIS IS A KEEPER FOR ME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Excellent salsa. We made it again this year for the second time. This has been our favorite also. We added 3 tablespoons of lime juice for a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a good salsa recipe. I will cut back on the Cumin next time - personal preference. I cut back the sugar by about 1/2 and that was just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I get so many compliments on this salsa! Everyone consistently says it's the best salsa they've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States