Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this, but reduced the amounts of each ingredient because I only wanted enough for my boyfriend and I. It was really good. :) To me, it tastes a lot like the salsa at La Carreta. I didn't have bell peppers or red onion on hand, so I left those out. My boyfriend also requested that it be a little hotter after he taste-tested the salsa I had made, so I added more banana pepper and cayenne, and I also threw in a little white pepper and some tabasco. I really liked it, and I am not a salsa eater. My boyfriend wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halley Jarrett

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
First to make this salas and it's the best. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alycia Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Very good. I used double the cumin, no cayenne, six jalapeños, one bell pepper and only two table spoons of brown sugar, no white sugar. Marc would prefer no sugar and chunkier. I boiled for three full hours. I did not have tomato paste so I used some homemade tomato sauce. Overall, this is a hit. Worth making again whe the garden puts out lots of tomatoes and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I made this last year and canned them in pint size jars. I gave a few of them out to my friends and I was told it was the best salsa they had ever had. Time to make more for the upcoming winter. thanks for a great recipe Tami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time ever making salsa. My family loved it so much, I have to make more this weekend! Great recipe, I will never buy store brand salsa again. This was so easy. This time I'm adding jalopenos instead of cayenne powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This salsa was disappointing. 1. no cilantro, 2. no jalepeno peppers, and 3. tomato paste. but gave it a shot. I used a red and white onion and raw sugar only, nixed the banana peppers, sauteed the onions and green pepper in a pan, added the tomatoes, paste and spices, and voila! It tasted like tomato sauce. I even added cilantro to try and make it taste more like salsa... but it didn't help. Oh well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Since I've not tasted it yet, I will give it 4 stars. I usually read reviews first but didn't do it this time. I followed the recipe exactly except I added roasted hatch chiles. I hope it's not too sweet! It was a little soupier than I typically like but if it tastes good, I can deal with that. I might mention this was my first go around with canning salsa. I chopped veggies FOR AN ETERNITY! I sure hope the flavor of the salsa makes all of that time spent chopping veggies worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This recipe was FAR from what the other comments say they are! This salsa was SUPER sweet even with the sugars cut in half, was super thick and I think Pace's picante sauce is actually better. Suggestion- No sugar, no tomato paste, and add some spicy peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nate crist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I do love this recipe so I use it every year for using up my garden goodies. I add jalapenos for a bit of heat, swap out the powdered garlic for fresh and omit the brown sugar. S&P to taste. It is requested by friends who ask, "Did you make the salsa this year?".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Really good recipe. I added 1 more banana pepper and simmered for 4 1/2 hrs to let those peppers get a nice slow burn going. Lots of asks for this recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States