Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
LOVE this recipe, I cut the sugar in half did not use banana pepper but added 3 jalapeno peppers(seeds and all) instead and added 2 tsp cumin. I also used the juice of 3 limes and a little cilantro. I only simmered for 1hr. We like to add a some fresh tomato and a little fresh cilantro when we open a jar.I love this salsa and it would be good to use in chili or recipes that call for canned tomatoes it is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I love this salsa, it has just the right amount of sweet and spicy. So easy to make. I made this recipe 3 times this season. Everyone eats it up so fast i have to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
this salsa does rock-double yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
THis is great. Our grocery stores were out of banans peppers (small town) so I put a couple of jalapenos in and added a handful of cilantro. I also cut the sugar down a bit and used the splenda brown sugar. Will probably ccut the sugar down a little more next time because we tend to go pretty easy on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I enjoyed snacking on this all the way through! I followed other's advice and not only cut back on the sugar, but substituted 1/4 of pure maple syrup in place of the b & w sugars. Also added 1/2 jalapeno pepper - right amount of zip. Makes 6- 500 ml jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
We loved this salsa my 9yr daughter used this recipe for her 4H project. It won best of show and 1st place. We omitted the sugar, brown sugar and banana peppers and added jalepeno's it still had a sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHELSEAK3
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Really yummy! We didn't have banana peppers so I used two big poblano peppers, I also used 3 jalapeno peppers and about 6 cayenne peppers, instead of the cayenne powder. I was worried it would be too spicy, but it wasn't spicy at all so I sprinkled in a little cayenne powder for spice. I also used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder, added fresh lime and lemon juice and a little extra vinegar, just to be safe for the canning. I was concerned about the sugar, because it got mixed reviews and I don't like sweet mexican food, I prefer savory but we tasted it without the sugar and felt it needed it but next time we will only use half or less of the sugar. Too sweet, not enough spice but still Yummy! This is a keeper with alterations, I wish I would have doubled the recipe because it only made 7 jars of salsa. We will go through that in a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This salsa is worth every min of time spent making it! I did add one jalepeno to it..gave it a little more bite. It is just delicious. Thanks so much for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Great recipe! I halved the sugar, used jalepeno peppers instead of banana, and doubled the cumin. Very tasty, so glad I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Awesome with the following tweeks!!! Cut sugar in half Use jalopenos instead of banana peppers Add 1 or 2 bunches of chopped fresh cilantro I only boiled for 15 minutes before canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States