Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by osubuckeyesrock1
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This recipe is PERFECT as is!! A little sweet and a little spice. When I try recipe, I like to try it the way the recipe is written. If I don't like it, then I make changes. I don't like when people change 2, 3, 4 and so on of the ingredients and then rate it bad when they altered the recipe. I don't think thats fair to the creator either. I'm going to make a couple more batch AS IS and a couple of batches, but add corn and black beans. Thank You for sharing this AWESOME recipe. It will for sure be the go to salsa recipe in our house. Once you eat this, you will never want to buy store bought salsa again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osubuckeyesrock1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Mine tasted like spicy spaghetti sauce. I don't know what I did wrong. I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
great taste. sweet and spicy. i am considering adding a little smoke flavoring in the next batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I substituted cayenne for fresh jalapenos, about 6 seeded, and added cilantro. I only added 1T of the sugars too. I needed to do something with all my garden tomatoes. This was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is pretty good. I did make some changes though... I used 2 red onions & 1 white onion and I omitted the banana peppers and the tomato paste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay City, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This has Way too much sugar!! Next time I will leave out the brown sugar and only put in 1/4 cup of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is the best ever salsa recipe! I first made this with my in-laws (we had never made salsa before). We were blown away with how great it turned out. I now make double batches any chance I get. I give out jars to friends and family, who keep asking me for more. Several people have asked me for this recipe, and friends of friends are even requesting it. It's quite the talk of the town! The changes I make are eliminating the banana peppers, and possibly adding one jalapeno for a little kick. I also use a food processor to chop the onions and peppers up (this saves a lot of time/headache). I also add a bunch of cilantro about 30 min before it's done cooking. I have also cooked this in a large crock pot with the lid sideways. It works fine, but takes about double the cooking time. I really wish I could give this recipe more than five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This is awesome! Made a bunch to give away as gifts. I have people fighting over it and stealing jars from each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Big props for this recipe, probably the best that I've ran across! We killed 2 jars of this in about an hour at Thanksgiving and there were only 3 of us. This salsa has an amazing taste with the perfect amount of heat. I made some changes as well just out of personal preference. I did cut the sugars back some as others had indicated. Also substituted fresh habenero peppers from the garden instead of banana along with some chilpotle peppers in adobo sauce which even enhanced the flavor just that much more. In addition we added corn, black beans and cilantro to our preference. I think this will easily be my "go to" recipe for salsa from here on out so thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States