Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Great salsa!! Maybe the best I've ever had! I added 3 large peaches diced and added habenero peppers in lieu of the banana peppers for an extra kick. I also must have had more tomatoes because I ended up with 15 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Rockin recipe! Making batch three now. I added less sugar with each batch. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was the best salsa. The kids loved it, we gave some for Christmas presents and was loved by all. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This will be the third year in a row that we have only used this receipe. Why use anything else when this is so outstanding. I continue to get requests for the receipe from family and friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
We love salsa to eat and share with friends and neighbors so we went to a farm and bought three cases of tomatoes. We made this recipe four times over a week, with adjustments as we sampled and evaluated. Our conclusion was that this is an excellent recipe that offers you a pleasantly sweet upfront taste followed by gentle or more heat as you choose. You can make adjustments within bounds that won't alter the acidic balance necessary for preservation. You can use three cups of onion, any kind. Two and a half cups of peppers, hot or mild or any mixture, with seeds or not, depending on your heat preference. We liked lemon juice instead of vinegar for flavor and an additional boost of acidity just in case. We added a teaspoon and a half of oregano, a standard in a former recipe. We reduced the sugar to a tabespoon of each white and brown sugars and it was still plenty sweet. Plus, we found that using roma tomatoes for half of the tomatoes yielded a thicker, less watery salsa that we preferred. We also used one of those choppers that allows you to push vegetables through a sharp grid. We used the smaller grid instead of the coarser one because that too seemed to contribute to a better consistency. From here on, this is our go-to salsa recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This is the first time I've canned salso and was thrilled with the outcome! I used jalapenos instead of banana peppers and I think it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I made this salsa from tomatoes and fajita peppers from my garden. It was a little sweet at first, but after setting up a couple of days, it was great. I love a chunky salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Loved this!! I made 2 batches last summer and now I'm about to make it again. I love using it in tortilla soup instead of regular canned tomatoes, and in any mexican recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Love this salsa! Hands down one of the tastiest and easiest I have ever made. I added some chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gbrllgy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I started canning a few years ago and one of the first things I made was this salsa. YUM! Everybody who's tasted it says it's fabulous! And I made it EXACTLY as written! I'm going to pick tomatoes today to make my next batch. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States