Rockin' Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
excellent and I have now turned my daughter in law into making and canning salsa ..a big step
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This recipe was great. Wife and kids loved it. The only changes that I made was not putting any sugar or brown sugar and I put 8 tablespoons of the cayenne peppers because we like it spicy. I like the fact that you have canning directions too. I have never canned before and it was simple to do following your directions. Thank you for sharing that fantastic recipe for others to try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Best recipe I have found period! I can this and hand out to a select few friends and they have become addicted. The key is the long cook with a perfect blend of ingredients. Addicted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
very good, only put in half the sugar and i really regret it, I don't like even a hint of sweet in my salsa....next time NO SUGAR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I am not a salsa dip person, mainly cause I don't like spicy food, I didn't use the cayenne pepper, and half what it called for of the banana peppers, and it's perfect, just to my liking. My boys love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is an awesome salsa. It is a sweet salsa recipe. 3 pints were eaten within 2 days by my family it is so good. If you dip your veggies in this you will eat them and not miss chips. It is also a thick salsa however I squeezed, seeded and drained my tomatoes. Used Roma in 3 batches and regular round ones in second 3 batches. The round ones needed a lot of squeezing and did not yield as much do to being a more watery tomato. Both types of tomatoes made a good salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I made this exactly as directed and I think it's the best salsa ever. No more store bought for this family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I would definately use less tomato paste, but other than that it was sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelso!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I loved this recipe with slight variations...I agree that cooking the veggies for 3 hours is too long. An hour or so is plenty. I added 2 chunks of fresh pineapple for a fruity undertone and slight sweetness, instead of all the sugar. I also added some of the brown sugar, a few tablespoons and a tablespoons of home made maple syrup. It is a nice subtle taste. I also added smoked paprika and some different peppers, but kept the tomatoes the same and I also added fresh sweet corn! I reduced the garlic, since I dislike a garlic aftertaste that lasts overnight. I used fresh, though, not powder. I substituted lime juice for the vinegar and this , combined with the pineapple gave my salsa a very citrus undertone that is nice with a southwest flair. The smoked paprika and roasted peppers added a chipotle component to the salsa. It is a fun recipe to make and to add your own favorite flavors and textures. It allows you to customize your salsa to your own and your family's tastes. A bit sweet with some texture and some smoky goodness is how we like our salsa. All in all a great starter recipe and one I have used twice now. I will use it again next summer. It is a great way to use your garden surplus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet Thompkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The best that I have made, I even put some corn and black beans in one batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States