Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
great recipe - thanks! The oysters were so easy to open, it was unbelievable. In the future I would skip the peppercorns, only cuz I'm not a huge fan. Someone's tip to serve with lemon wedges and tobasco sauce was handy too and made these oysters a huge hit with my fella. The presentation is great, the recipe is easy and the taste devine. I'd give three thumbs up but i only have two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was my very first attempt at both eating and making oysters. I have to say, I was very hesitant but THRILLED when I finally tasted them. I cut the quantity way down and made 10 large oysters. I cut the filling in half and just barely filled my oysters so perhaps this recipe is meant for smaller oysters. Nonetheless, I followed the recipe to the letter (except I increased the garlic significantly and added a shake of red pepper flakes) and omitted the mozzarella as others recommended and served it with fresh squeezed lemon and Tabasco on top (the way we eat our baked clams) and it was crazy good! Thanks for helping make a great anniversary dinner for my hubby and I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedVinoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I know it's not quite fair, but I'm rating my version that I tweaked from your recipe Cassandra, simply because we loved it so much! I used freshly caught cod (@2 lbs. of thick filets) that I seasoned with S&P and placed, snuggly fitting, in a veggie-sprayed casserole. I made your cheesy-spinach topping, using less salt and only 8-oz of mixed cheeses (gouda & mozzarella). I spread that mixture top of those cod filets in smooth layer. I subbed @3/4 cup of Durkee French Fried Onions for the bread crumb topping. Baked for @30 minutes in a preheated 350° oven until the dish was bubbling and the onion topping was brown and crispy. Fabulous taste, moist fish! It reheats great and tastes just as good leftover (with gentle microwave reheating)! Thanks for jump-starting a new way to enjoy the abundance of fish that I'm grateful to enjoy. Can't wait to try it on some oysters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Great recipe! On a shortcut note, I was running out of time - so I cut out the whole pan mizing part. I just sprinkled the spinach, cheese, melted butter, garlic etc over the oysters and threw them in the overn right away. They tasted great! Im sure mixing on the stove would bring out the flavors more - but still... it's a good time saver for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made this for NEW Years Eve, it was great! I eat a lot of raw oysters and decides to make this because a lot of friends don't like them that way, well they loved this recipe. I DID NOT cook oyster first. I baught raw long island blue point oysters, shucked them put everything on top then ito the oven. I did add real bacon bits as someone suggested. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this for New Years Eve.. it was a hit. My boyfriend, who'd never eaten oysters before absolutely loved them. The whole thing was awesome. I boiled the oysters in Pete's Wicked Ale..which gave it a nice taste and I added crumbled bacon to the melted cheese which was a nice touch. I would make this again.. hopefully sooner then later! And it was simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFURMATO77

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cliffwood Beach, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Keyport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
It was little more work but it's totally worth it! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Awesome!! I am from Louisiana, and I've had some mighty fine Oysters Rockefeller in my day... This recipe was right up there with some of the best! It doesn't contain some of the traditional ingredients (Pernod, sometimes anchovies), and the cheeses are a bit untraditional, but the end result is fantastic!! I did add a bit of cayenne pepper for a little heat, but I otherwise made the recipe as-is. This was a great find! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
The best oysters rockefeller I have ever had! The beer is a nice touch, and brings something different to the recipe. Also tastes much better and is cheaper than aniseed liqueur, which some variations do contain. We add some grated onion to the mix usually, and serve with bread and salad. For something completely new, try substituting the oysters for jumbo shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Although this was yummy, we ended up with a very cheesey mixture so not much of the oyster flavor was coming through. I'd make again and maybe omit one of the cheeses and add more butter to make a thinner spinach mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Patchogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States