Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
The BEST!!! We have been making Oysters Rockefeller as a "traditional appetizer" for Christmas Eve for years. We have tried recipe after recipe. A friend had been suggesting allrecipes.com for years for receipes in general and I took a chance on the oysters this year...WOW! We are blown away! This is now "THE RECIPE" we will use...the search is over. Do as others say and leave out the mozzarella cheese...everything else is perfect! Can't wait to use allrecipes.com for other searches! I'm hooked! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
To die for! Did add a couple slices of crumbled bacon to the mix and I eliminated the mozzarella cheese because it has limited taste and makes the mix too stringy. The only other minor change was to drizzle just a little butter with a hint of lemon before serving. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
I loved this recipe, let alone tasting great, in boiling them it was so easy to open the oysters and I was surprised to see they were still raw. I will definitely make these again! Sandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I'm a landlocked sailor living in Kentucky and one of my favorite treats is oysters Rockefeller. I go to the ocean often and these are as god as any that I have had anywhere. I did cheat a little and add some crumbled bacon to your recipe. Thanks for the treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
These were delicious & made a wonderful presentation! I couldn't find Fontina cheese so used Gouda instead. They were a bit on the salty side so would recommend omitting the salt altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I have never prepared oysters before, and was a little concerned about all the work needed to prepare them. It was so worth it! I made these for my boyfriend last night, and he loved the recipe. I did however make a couple of small changes. I boiled the oysters for 7 minutes, omitted the milk and mozza cheese. I topped them with real bacon bits. My boyfriend was almost sad when he finished the last one! If you're looking to impress this recipe is a keeper! This is a very elegant looking appetizer the hardest part is cleaning and opening the shells but you will see it's worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I made this for New Year's eve for my husband and I. These were delicious and very easy to make. I couldn't find fontina cheese but used guyere instead and omitted all added salt. They were plenty salty! Thanks for wonderful appetizer Cassandra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Taber Tombrella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Added 6-8 slices of bacon crumbled into the cheese. Also splashed each oyster with pernod before baking and after baking. no joke the best oysters rockefeller i've ever had in my entire life
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
one word Magnificent!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
This recipe was great! Everyone loved it and it was far easier to prepare than I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States