Rockin Carrot, Sweet Potato, and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I love these flavours! I made a couple of small changes. I used about a tbsp of coconut oil instead of bacon fat. I didn't have any brown sugar, so I used a tbsp of maple syrup. I also added 1/4 tsp of tumeric for the health benefits, not the flavour. My only issue was that I should have took another reviewers advice and doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Wonderful flavour. I did add 3 cloves crushed garlic after sauteeing the carrots and onion. Served with a dollop of full fat sour cream and crumbled bacon it was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I've made this a few times now and love it!! Didn't make it quite as spicy as I have before because hubby had a tooth out and needed something to slide down easily and it's so quick & easy - I thought I'd lay off the spicy this time .... before I use butter and olive oil (instead of bacon grease) I MUST remember I have coconut oil in the cupboard (I put spoonful on pooch's food and his coat is really soft) - I didn't have onion so I used 3-onion spices from the cupboard and powdered ginger instead of paste .... no other changes - absolutely delicious and is definitely my go-to soup recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Hubby and I really liked this, but 2.5 year old wouldn't eat it. Made some minor changes: all bacon grease instead of butter, 1/2 tsp dried thyme (total) instead of fresh, 1.25 tsp ground ginger instead of ginger paste, about 1/2 C OJ, and omitted the half-and-half (needed to make this non-dairy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Overall good, but needs "something"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I have to admit that as I was making this recipe I was questioning if I had chose the right recipe for what I wanted (used butter because I didn't have bacon grease, dried thyme, and grated ginger). However, once I added the orange, cinnamon, and brown sugar I was convinced that it would be delish. It's missing a little something to take it over the top - but I haven't figured out what just yet. This really is a nice soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was delicious! I followed it almost to a tee except I used dried thyme, didn't have fresh, and I omitted the cinnamon because I thought it might overpower it. I think you could go without the bacon grease to make it healthier. I'm glad I doubled the recipe, made a big pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sea Cliff, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent recipe as written. I didn't change anything. Doubled the batch so I could freeze some. Hoping that freezing won't change the consistency of it. Will make this again. Great comfort food for cold chilly weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
We loved the flavor!! My second batch I used a vegetable stock and some crisped tempeh bits(to replace the bacon fat and butter) and olive oil for the vegetarians in the family. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States