Rock Salt Roast Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
A prime rib roast provided you didn't overcook it is generally a very juicy roast naturally. This recipe was ok, but I did feel it was a waste of so much mustard, and rock salt. The creamy horseradish sauce I wasn't fond of at all. But thanks for giving me something new to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
There are so many good reviews for this recipe, I had very high hopes. However, mine turned out very poorly. The salt/mustard never formed any type of crust. I actually had to hold my prime rib under the faucet to wash the salt off. The meat tasted fine, but just as it would have if I had roasted it without doing anything special. Doubtful I will try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Our family loved this! I moistened the salt with red wine before sticking on. The salt crust wacked right off and the end result was a fantastic crust. Served with mashed potatoes and peas~yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
We followed the receipe to a t but, I think you might get the same results just by roasting it in the oven per directions without the salt. I am going to try it that way next time. It was a BIG hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
My family loved the flavor of this roast although I found that it came out a bit dry (but perhaps I cooked a bit too long). We usually have a pot roast that I cook on the top of the stove so this was a nice change. My husband said that it tasted even better the next day and everyone lightly brushed the mustard/salt concoction over their meat although I found it a bit too salty for my taste. Definitely a keeper for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Did this for Christmas dinner. Turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Just made the roast for dinner tonight. Everything that the recipe said was so true. I remembered this recipe from a past girlfriend years and years ago. Her father used rock salt and it was the best prime rib I had ever eaten. The salt completely crusts over and does not make the roast the least bit salty. The mustard disipates and the meat is the juciest of any prime rib I have ever had!. If you like your prime rib juicy, you MUST try doing it with rock salt. You do need to follow the directions, and use plenty of salt. I used about 5 pounds worth. However, like I mentioned, it crusts on the top, bottom and sides. The top crust just lifted off and the bottom stayed in the foil. The salt on the sides just flaked off during the cooking process. This was by far the best recipe for prime rib I have ever tried. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
WOW! Yummy! I used regular salt. The roast turned out awsome! There were 14 at our Dinner Party and not a plate had any food left on it! This one is definatly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
WOW! What a great recipe....I had guests over for dinner and they were all guinea pigs to this recipe...and they all LOVED it! They all asked for the recipe....haven't decided if I want to give the secret away! :-) Good job on the creator of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
The best way to cook prime rib ... juicy, tender & easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States