Rock Salt Roast Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
WOW! What a great recipe....I had guests over for dinner and they were all guinea pigs to this recipe...and they all LOVED it! They all asked for the recipe....haven't decided if I want to give the secret away! :-) Good job on the creator of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
WOW! Yummy! I used regular salt. The roast turned out awsome! There were 14 at our Dinner Party and not a plate had any food left on it! This one is definatly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Just made the roast for dinner tonight. Everything that the recipe said was so true. I remembered this recipe from a past girlfriend years and years ago. Her father used rock salt and it was the best prime rib I had ever eaten. The salt completely crusts over and does not make the roast the least bit salty. The mustard disipates and the meat is the juciest of any prime rib I have ever had!. If you like your prime rib juicy, you MUST try doing it with rock salt. You do need to follow the directions, and use plenty of salt. I used about 5 pounds worth. However, like I mentioned, it crusts on the top, bottom and sides. The top crust just lifted off and the bottom stayed in the foil. The salt on the sides just flaked off during the cooking process. This was by far the best recipe for prime rib I have ever tried. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Our family loved this! I moistened the salt with red wine before sticking on. The salt crust wacked right off and the end result was a fantastic crust. Served with mashed potatoes and peas~yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Did this for Christmas dinner. Turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was only my second attempt at Prime Rib. This recipe is a keeper. I couldn't find prepared hot mustard, so I used sweet hot mustard. It was a little runny so the salt didn't stay on the sides very well. I also altered the baking time, 1 hour at 450, then I turned down the temp to 350 till the core temp was 120. After resting for a few minutes, the rost was a perfect medium rare. So, our Christmas dinner prime rib was tender and flavorful. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This make a beautiful, delicious roast, and the salt shell makes for a dramatic presentation if you chip it away at the table before carving. I did it for Christmas 2001 and it immediatly became the dish we will be making for Christmas dinner from then on. The horeseradish sauce adds zip and is good for those who don't like full strength horseradish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
GREAT recipe and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving, and then again last weekend.... It has been requested for Christmas, too! This produces a restaurant quality meal, which was an instant hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My husband and I had this for our low key New Year's Eve dinner. It was fantastic and we both agreed it was the best we've ever had! It was better than any prime rib I've ever had in a restaurant. I really liked the high heat method, as opposed to the low and slow recipes. I smeared some dijon mustard all over the roast before I pressed the salt onto it. I also ended up using kosher salt instead of the rock salt, but it didn't affect the flavor at all. Since we made it, we've been talking about this recipe to everyone we know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States