Rock Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This by far has to be the best tasting prime rib roast I have ever made. It wasn't at all salty in flavour, it was however moist and flavourful! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I had to improvise on a few ingredients but the overall flavor was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This is the best Prime Rib I've ever tasted. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I was very determine to find the BEST prime rib recipe and I found it. I've tried many prime rib recipes and this is by far THE BEST. I used 5 1/2 pounds and it asked for 2 1/2 cups of Rock Salt. The outside came out a little bit on the salty side. I would probably recommend 2 cups instead. I also added EXTRA Rosemary. I also did what one of the viewer did, cook 450 degree for 30 minutes and then turned down to 325 degree and cook the remaining 1 hour and 15 minutes. Removed the meat at 130 degree and let the meat sit for 15 minutes. The meat came out medium rare... PERFECT! Thank you for sharing and this recipe belong to a 10 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by locopups

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I've never made prime rib before, and this was so easy, and so good!! I would recommend placing foil in the bottom of your pan to make clean-up easier. It took quite a bit of soaking to get the salt mixture out of the roaster, but it was soooo worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This turned out awesome! The only thing I did wrong (was not thinking at all) was that I used my clay pot. Not a good idea. I would not only recommend, but insist on using a disposable pan to ensure cleanup. That's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe is the greatest! I have always cooked Prime Rib for Christmas. and this is the BEST. I did have to modify-ingred. down size to 5lbs and adjusted the temp, I cooked at 450 for 30 min then 325 about 1hour 15min(elevation) 3900 feet. not to mention the comments on the volcanic looking thing.which everyone had to touch. and Grandaughter (8)explained to everyone that she wasn't going to eat that!!Well she did and everyone LOVE IT.I enjoy checking out allrecipes.com Thanks Ronda,in Utah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is a great way to cook your Prime Rib. Great taste, tender and the family and friends couldn't get over how the salt shell was around the roast and breaking it open, everyone was really surprized to see the process. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe and everyone should try this method of cooking your Prime Rib. Margaret Tolbert from Tucson Arizona
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
this is a great recipe! my family loves it alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chuck Dagel
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
this is a really good recipe it works really well at thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Dagel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States