Rock Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was an excellent meal! Served this Christmas Day and was a HUGE hit! Everyone asked for it again next year!! Was delicious and moist, flavorful and actually very simple to do. The only issue I had was that I kept it in the oven until it reached 130 degrees with the meat thermometer and it wasn't quite as pink as I had hoped until we got to the very center. My roast was only 10 pounds, so that may have been the difference. I encourage anyone to try this is you love prime rib..easy and absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Two thumbs up! I halved this recipe for my smaller roast. Used Johnny's Au Jus, its the best out there. You can google it and order from company in Tacoma, WA. Best prime rib we ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jannaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this for New Years and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuffalosMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Made this for family holiday dinner. It was fantastic and everyone loved it. I didn't change a thing! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I will never cook prime rib any other way! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Schwebel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I searched the internet for a salt-encrusted prime rib. I chose this one because of the rave reviews. We were not disappointed! I used an 18lb. boneless prime rib. I didn't have any rosemary but used an Italian blend with rosemary/garlic and mixed that with the dry onion soup mix (2 pkgs.). I felt it could have used more seasoning but that did not detract from the flavor. Also used a large disposable roasting pan which made for super easy clean up. I followed the recipe precisely but next time I would not dump all of the flour/rock salt mixture in the bottom of the pan. This proved to be extremely difficult to cover the whole roast with the mixture. Next time would cover the bottom of the roast, flip it over and do the top/sides. I roasted it at 450 for 30 minutes then turned oven down to 325 for 3 hours. The thermometer reached 115 degrees and I took it out. I didn't let it stand as I was concerned it was already too well done. I was wrong! The inside was gorgeous, medium rare. The rock salt crust literally fell off but left outstanding flavor on the outside of the meat. I will be bookmarking this recipe for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The stores were out of rock salt so I used kosher. When I took it out to patch the cracks I must have missed one because after it had cooked a lot of the juice had leaked out and my prime rib overcooked but stilll very delicious but a little dry. I poured some aus just over it once cracked and it soaked it right up. I did scrape some of the sticky coating so it wasn't so salty. Next time I will line the pan with parchement paper because the salt/flour casing stuck to the bottom of the pan and was a royal pain to get off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Oh WOW! We love, love, love this recipe! I used 5 1/2 pounds of meat with ribs attached. After rinsing and drying really well, I applied rub ( 1 1/2 TBS. course fresh pepper, 2 tsp. onion soup mix, and 2 tsp. of the roast and steak rub from safeway's meat counter. That rested 45 min. The store was out of rock salt. I used 3 3/4 cups of course kosher salt, and 3 3/4 cups of flour, with a full 2 TBS. of rosemary. I put all that in a large bowl and my husband added cold water, very, very slowly as I mixed with my hands. I had recalculated the recipe for 7 servings, and it said to use just under a cup of water, or more if needed. We used about 2 1/2 cups, so way more. I was mixing really well, and stopped as soon as the mixture was a stiff sticky paste/dough, with no loose dry stuff on the bottom of bowl. I covered the meat, rib side/bottom too; like you would cover something with play-doh. I put it in one of those disposable pans, then in 450 degree oven for 35 min, then turned down to 320 degrees for an additional 70 minutes. I let it rest for 30 minutes. Hubby cracked the crust, we opened the "package" and were easily able to pull the meat out. It was perfect! The two ends were medium/rare. The 4 center pieces were rare. It was a beautiful red, yet texture was lovely, not raw at all. I don't have a meat thermometer, so I felt pretty lucky, as this was our Christmas dinner. Next time I will put a little less "rub" on the ends. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juststacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
It was Christmas day and we had bought our first ever prime rib of 17.5lbs. We had invited two families over for a Christmas meal. After barely fitting the bad boy in the oven we set off for the ice rink. 2 hours later we came home to a house full of smoke because the juice had ran over onto the element. Shortly after, company started to arrive to a house full of smoke and a what appeared to be a very large loaf of bread sitting on the kitchen counter cooling. We began to chip off the crust and shortly after began to dive into this wonder roast that had been unfortunately over cooked. I must tell you that it was fantastic even though it was well done and my kids are now prime rib and horseradish lovers. Initially we struggled with the high salt idea, because we don't cook with much salt. Some outside pieces were a little salty, but we ended up fighting for the outside crispy pieces. Will use this recipe again. Thank you for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I want to tell you this is the only way to cook a prime rib. This is the 2nd time of using the rock salt and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States