Rock Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
First time attempting something this serious on my own - it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This recipe did not work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Estes
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Estes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Rolled the dice on this and came out a winner !!! Best Prime Rib I've ever made.. Next time I will make more salt /flour mixture though. Also make sure you cook it a disposable tray .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Warner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is a winner! It's the only way to go for prime rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Cricks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
First time hosting Christmas Eve Family gathering of 25 people so why not also attempt to cook Prime Rib for first time as well? After discussions with a few people I was conflicted on the whole salt, non-salt discussion - "It's salt so it dries it out" vs "It's salt so it keeps it moist." A family member had planned on hosting so they already had the rock salt, so went with salt. This recipe got my attention because of a) the rave reviews and b) the flour salt crust made sense to me that it would keep it moist. I had two 8 lb's & a 5 lb roasts. I made my (first) batch of flour/salt/rosemary paste & ran out after the first roast. Luckily my wife was around & was able to mix up a new batch. 15 minutes later, I had created quite a mess, everything looked covered butI panicked. It looks atrocious. I had extra rock salt so I dumped that over the entire thing. I started it out at 450 degrees for 20 minutes & then turned it down to 350. When it got to 100 degrees, & some of the guests not there yet, I turned the oven to 250. At 120 degrees I took the roast out. Let it sit for about 20 minutes while I stared at the smoldering salt covered very expensive piece of meat. To my delight, after 20 minutes I stabbed at the shell I had created & it split just like a shell should. Very easily moved the shells aside and pulled out the meat. Swiped away the remainging rock salt and all looked perfect. THE MEAT WAS DELICIOUS. Best I've ever had. Unreal. Pans are still soaking though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This turned out perfectly. It was a little work intensive but well worth the effort!This was my first attempt at prime rib and was very pleased. I made the recipe for 4 so adjust time accordingly. Cooked it then 30 min. then an hour and 15 min. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
There as an excessive amount of salt transfer from the crust to the meat. Found that even the interior cuts of the roast were excessively salty. End cuts were unpleasant. Next time I will use 2 or 3 layers of cooking parchment. Given the results of the roast, the waste of resources (salt and flour), and the increased preparation time; if I could rate this recipe at less than 1, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is the BEST recipe for Prime Rib! Awesome! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Everyone loved this recipe, however it was very stressful to cook. I planned on it taking it about 3 hours based on the instructions. I had a bone in 15lb prime rib at followed all the directions. 450 and then repatched the holes. After an hour of cooking the Prime Rib was registering 170 degrees! It was done in 1 hour for some reason, I turned the oven down to 200 and waited it out for the next two hours. I think this recipe needs to be revisited because realistically I could of served it after an hour. All my visitors were very impressed with the Prime Rib as was I. I just wish the cooking time was more clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States