Rock Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Everyone loved it for Christmas dinner! The flavor was wonderful, but the pan was horrible to clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandyR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
While the rock salt kept the beef moist, it was very hard to remove (you need a hammer) and spots of the prime rib were really salty! Won't do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I made this for Christmas and it was the BEST Prime Rib we ever had! I am making another one tonight! Very easy and extremely tasty! I cut back on the salt a little. It looks so neat when its done. I emailed the recipe to a friend and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Raceland, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This recipe was very delicious. It came out perfectly medium rare and was so tender and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I used this recipie for my New Year's Eve dinner and it was absolutely fabulous! I did a 7lb prime rib roast, roasted it first for 30 min, then cooked it for an additional 1 hr 40 min, rest for 30 min. At first I was quite hesitant cooking a prime rib roast with a rock-salt crust, and which took less time that any of the other recipies I had researched. Since the crust covers the entire roast, you don't see what's happening on the outside. So during the entire cooking time, I was praying to the food God's that I did not mess up on this expensive piece of meat. (Please note, that I am a novice cook, so I don't have the experience yet to know what works or not.) However, once it was done and I removed the crust, it was like a gift sent from heaven! I think that it turned out better than any other rib roast that I had tasted. I followed all the directions and added all the recommended ingredients, with the exception of sticking some garlic cloves into the roast and roasting it initially for 30 min instead of the recommended 20 min (as suggested by some members, thanks guys!) , but other than that, it turned out to be a hit. My brother, who is the biggest food critique, said that this was the best prime rib roast he has ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestoeat!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
It was good. The crust was a lot of fun. My only mistake was that I didn't realize how fast it would be finished. I had read the package it came in and it said around 3 hours at 350. I think it was done in about an hour. Next time I will insert garlic pieces into the meat to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I've made salt encrusted prime rib several times but this was the best yet! I got rave reviews from my family and one of them who never compliments even asked for the recipe. I made a couple minor changes: I used beefy onion soup mix instead of the onion soup mix and added mixed garlic to the rub under the salt. I also added a small amount of Emeril's Steak Seasoning to the rub. Ummmm....all this just added to the wonderful flavor! Only negative was that I waited until the temp was at 130 before I took the roast out to rest for 20 minutes and it was well done through out. Luckily it was still juicy and yummy! Next time I would take it out at a lower temp. While I like well done meat, I know that others prefer it med rare to rate. I also encrusted the full roast (including the bottom rib side) even though I put the salt mix at the bottom of the pan - I think this helped to seal in all the wonderful juices and helped to keep the well done meat juicy and tender. Great recipe and I know this will be the one that I use in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Only way to cook a prime rib! My husband’s idea to fix this Christmas Day – wanted something rather than turkey. OH WOW it was fabulous. Seasoned the outside of the prime rib with rosemary, garlic, Cajun seasonings. Next time we will inject some au jus in it. Other thing we did different…put it in at the high temperature of 475 for 30 minutes so the outer layer would sear quickly. After that the temperature went to 325. We also put a layer of rock salt on the bottom and on all sides of the roaster. Just excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made Prime Rib for the first time for Christmas Dinner and this recipe was easy and excellent! I did lower the salt from 8 cups to 4 and it was excellent. My family LOVED it! clean up was a bit messy ... I will use parchement paper before adding the mixture to the roasting pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States