Rock Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Don't change anything. It's weird, but so good and perfect as the recipe reads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Super delicious and I didn't deviate much from the original recipe! Made this for dinner as an effort to build and practice my holiday cooking menu. I used a 10lb bone in standing rib roast that the butcher was kind enough to cut the bones and tie back with string. We halved the recipe for the pepper mix and salt crust. Definitely needed more water to make the salt crust doughy and I used twice the amount of rosemary. I let the rib roast sit to room temperature for about an hour and applied the pepper mix and salt crust. I didn't spread the salt crust over the entire bottom of pan, just did the roast. I placed it directly into a roasting pan without the grate, popped into a pre heated 450F oven for 35 minutes to sear, then took it out to fill in the cracks in the salt dough and let it cook for another 2 hours. Let it rest for 30 min and cracked it open to the amazement of our kids and dinner guest. It came out medium/medium well. We will definitely continue to use this recipe but keep a better eye on the temp so we can get more rare/medium pieces. Served with mashed potatoes, asparagus, green salad with orange vinaigrette dressing and creamy horseradish (Whipped horseradish recipe also on this site). This was a fabulous meal, and certainly not a waste of such a expensive cut of meat! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made this last night! Triple love it!! Needed a lot more water for the paste. Not a big deal. Also used Kosher salt, and it worked just great! I agree with others who recommended the Johnny au jus! It really is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Zagaja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I have never made Prime Rib before and I made this for Christmas Dinner. It was some of the best prime rib I have ever tasted! The only hard part was getting the shell off the meat! My husband had to use a saw, but once the crust was off it was tender, juicy and perfectly cooked! Thank you for making my first time cooking this a huge success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent Recipe...I did this last Christmas and will be doing it again this year...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
WOW! Definately the best recipe I have ever used for prime rib! Deceptively simple......I had a 7lb. roast, so I 1/2ed the other ingredients, I started with 1 cup water added to the flour mixture; then added more little by little until I had a soft playdough consistency. Then I turned the roast fat side down, pressed the 'playdough' on the bottom of the roast, then turned the roast fat side up and continued to press the 'playdough' mixture around the roast until it was sealed inside the 'playdough'. When ready to serve, I cracked the 'playdough' shell and removed the roast. It looks like an eggshell cracked in 2. Sooooo easy, and tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very good, didn't come out salty as I was afraid using all that salt in the paste you made to cover the primerib. I would do it again, though it is very messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskinue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tjohnsonwi
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
We made Prime Rib for New Year's Eve this year using your recipe....IMPRESSED! Very very good flavor, moist, and juicy. I didn't put the "cast" on the bottom of the meat, just the top and sides and it was superb! My husband is very picky about his prime rib and he thought it was delish! I cooked it to 130 and let it sit for 15 minutes. The temp rose to 140 and it was perfect! We used "Johnnys" Au Jus on the side (since the others said it was too salty to use its own - however, I saved it and dumped over a roast prior to cooking I made a few days later and it too was great) Yummmmmmm, making my mouth water just thinking out it. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjohnsonwi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Wayyyyyyy too salty.... I'm not going to rate this because obviously I did something wrong, but reviewed the recipe and can't find where I went wrong. Mine was saltier than salt itself, absolutely inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was an excellent meal! Served this Christmas Day and was a HUGE hit! Everyone asked for it again next year!! Was delicious and moist, flavorful and actually very simple to do. The only issue I had was that I kept it in the oven until it reached 130 degrees with the meat thermometer and it wasn't quite as pink as I had hoped until we got to the very center. My roast was only 10 pounds, so that may have been the difference. I encourage anyone to try this is you love prime rib..easy and absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States