Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
*****READ THIS REVIEW FIRST***** THE RATIO OF WATER TO SUGAR IS INCORRECT.. THATS WHY MANY GOT MOLDY CANDY. THE RATION IS 4 CUPS SUGAR TO 2 CUPS WATER. I USED SQUARE TUPPERWARE CONTAINER... NO LID-- JUST LOOSE CHEESECLOTH OR FOIL. DO NOT MOVE CONTAINER.. WAIT ONE WEEK. JUST FINE...HOPE THIS HELPS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I would give this zero stars if I could. Rock candy is supposed to be a supersaturated solution when you mix the sugar and water together. That means you should have more sugar than water not equal amounts of both. Of course, when you leave sugar water out it feeds bacteria, just like if you would leave meat out. The main thing is to try to make sure everything is as sanitized as possible and go for a recipe that has a sugar:water ratio of 2:1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
EVERYBODY! If you get moldy water, try these things: Instead of a skewer, use cotton string or dental floss. Cover jar with something lighter. Use the ratio 2 Cups Sugar to 1 Cup Water. If you try any of these things, and they work, post it here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
Recipe worked rather nicely, and the addition of just a touch of candy flavoring oils was great. **IF you're getting moldy water, try using a lighter weight cloth over your bottle. Whatever rag used was too heavy to let the water evaporate right. Cheese cloth works best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
All of you for whom this recipe did not owrk. I do not believe you did anything wrong. I know a lot about cooking and I have never had to re- try a recipe three times with this one I did on the third time I gave up. I tried a chees cloth it sat there for a month (kids waiting patiently) not one thing happened. I even tried the seeding method she suggested. I just feel like the amonts aren't correct or sometrhing. If you all have had the same problem there must be something wrong with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
my kids and i loved them! although it did take long for them to develope, good thinhs come to those who wait! i used orange for two, and a little vanilla for the others. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
This was an interesting project for the young kids to watch take place. I added a little foor coloring to make them more fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEECCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCTTTTTTTTTTTTT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I want to try this recipe but I am not sure of how to get 24 servings with just 1 skewer. We have a big Christmas with alot of kids & I always make alot of treats for them to snack on I make candy cookies & popcorn & more I thought this might be a nice addition. If someone can help me please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
READ THIS BEFORE MAKING IT! The reason many had moldy water is because the ratio of sugar to water was wrong. You want the water to be supersaturated, so you'll need a 2:1 sugar to water ratio. You have to heat the water in a saucepan to do this. You also do not want to use foil or plastic wrap to cover it. You need the water to evaporate some and it'll take longer to make the crystals. If you use a tupperware container, rock candy will form on the sides of the container and they're really hard to get off. Don't forget to 'seed' the skewers/string by rolling sugar onto them. However, you'll need to have the sugar water cooler than room temperature so that you don't just dissolve the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States