Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
I don't know if I did something wrong, but b the end of the two weeks all I had was molded water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
This was an interesting project for the young kids to watch take place. I added a little foor coloring to make them more fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I got moldy water, too. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
Recipe worked rather nicely, and the addition of just a touch of candy flavoring oils was great. **IF you're getting moldy water, try using a lighter weight cloth over your bottle. Whatever rag used was too heavy to let the water evaporate right. Cheese cloth works best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
All of you for whom this recipe did not owrk. I do not believe you did anything wrong. I know a lot about cooking and I have never had to re- try a recipe three times with this one I did on the third time I gave up. I tried a chees cloth it sat there for a month (kids waiting patiently) not one thing happened. I even tried the seeding method she suggested. I just feel like the amonts aren't correct or sometrhing. If you all have had the same problem there must be something wrong with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
my kids and i loved them! although it did take long for them to develope, good thinhs come to those who wait! i used orange for two, and a little vanilla for the others. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This recipe didn't work. All I got was moldy water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I don't know if I did it wrong but, I followed the instructions, and it didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Recipe didn't work for me...I'm going to try again though and use more sugar. I don't think there was quite enough to "super-saturate" the water. I'll use more sugar and heat it longer than I did the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This recipe left me with nothing but dissappointment and 6 cups of sugar & water down the drain. i had my hopes to atleast see some crystals growing and after a week there was mold. The person that wrote this recipe obviously needed to add every detail, that worked for her, i wish she would rewrite her recipe or just delete it. Next time i will read the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States