Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
As I was in the process of rolling the strawberries in the red colored sugar, my mother walked into the kitchen, right up to the table, looked down. "Where did you get the strawberries, humm, did'nt know we had any." I explained to her what they were, and how I made them. "hummm, smells like strawberries too". I thought to my self, what a nice compliment to this recipe. Oh yes I will use this over and over and many different flavors and colors. Two thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Well I did 2cups sugar 1 cup water with a decent splash of peppermint oil. I took a paper towel and a pony tail band and made a good tight seal around the top of my chinesse take out bowl. It's a 4inch by 6 inch tall plastic container. I had a stupid idea and put popsickel sticks in the solution, I removed them b4 they could get moldy! I'm sure wood is a bad idea in water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
The sugar to water ratio is absolutely WRONG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Does the temperature of the room make a difference? I just started with another recipe for rock candy, and it looks like the whole thing is solidifying in the bottom of the jar with nothing different going on with the stick. The room it's in is on the cool side. I wonder if maybe the temperature of the room has something to do with this, as well as the mold issue some people have experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This didn't quite work for me, but i'm close. i found another recipe that called for 2c water and 4 c sugar. i used stawberry flavoring and red food coloring. i also "seeded" bamboo skewers with sugar before placing in the solution. I used a large mason jar and i covered it with wax paper and put a rubber band around the brim to keep it one, i then stuck the bamboo skewers through the top of the wax paper and secured them with clothespins. It sat for two weeks, crystals started forming after the first week but not as big as regular rock candy. I found i had more crystals growing into the bottom of the jar than i had growing on the skewers. The candy tasted really good but the crystals were a small size. Not sure what i did wrong but i know i'm close to getting this right. any suggestions let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I have tried this recipe (and several others) with not much success. I'm sure the concept is there and maybe it's just me but I couldn't get it to work. I didn't have a problem with mold, just ants. They were after the sugar big time! I gave this a 3 cuz' I'm not sure if it's me or the recipe. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
As a kid my brother and I made this all the time. We used a piece of string (or a few pieces of string to make more) and I don't remember ever covering it. We never measured how much sugar... just poured some in.. maybe a quarter c/jar.. and we never got mold. The string started getting crystals after just a few days but we left them in longer to make them bigger. This recipe is a lot of fun, but I htink it just needs more sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I would give this zero stars if I could. Rock candy is supposed to be a supersaturated solution when you mix the sugar and water together. That means you should have more sugar than water not equal amounts of both. Of course, when you leave sugar water out it feeds bacteria, just like if you would leave meat out. The main thing is to try to make sure everything is as sanitized as possible and go for a recipe that has a sugar:water ratio of 2:1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
EVERYBODY! If you get moldy water, try these things: Instead of a skewer, use cotton string or dental floss. Cover jar with something lighter. Use the ratio 2 Cups Sugar to 1 Cup Water. If you try any of these things, and they work, post it here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Recipes does not work! After following everything all I got was moldy water. Do not count on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States