Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This was the first thing that I'd ever "cooked" by myself - it was done as one of my first science projects in the late 70's. It works just as well 30 years later. =) Flavoring oils really do enhance the experience now, though. I *love* this in orange and vanilla flavors... definitely use a light cloth over the top of the jar, cheesecloth works best. A very fond memory revisited. Thanks for the reminder. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEECCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCTTTTTTTTTTTTT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
this recipe for rock candy is not good at all. it doesn't even work. i did every thing it said to do. if i were you don't count on this recipe working when you are planning a party or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Made this for work and it was a huge hit at christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
*****READ THIS REVIEW FIRST***** THE RATIO OF WATER TO SUGAR IS INCORRECT.. THATS WHY MANY GOT MOLDY CANDY. THE RATION IS 4 CUPS SUGAR TO 2 CUPS WATER. I USED SQUARE TUPPERWARE CONTAINER... NO LID-- JUST LOOSE CHEESECLOTH OR FOIL. DO NOT MOVE CONTAINER.. WAIT ONE WEEK. JUST FINE...HOPE THIS HELPS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
Moldy water here. I read the reviews first and thought for sure I could figure out how to make it work. Nope!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Great tasting!!! i enjoyed creating Rock Candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I want to try this recipe but I am not sure of how to get 24 servings with just 1 skewer. We have a big Christmas with alot of kids & I always make alot of treats for them to snack on I make candy cookies & popcorn & more I thought this might be a nice addition. If someone can help me please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This recipe left me with nothing but dissappointment and 6 cups of sugar & water down the drain. i had my hopes to atleast see some crystals growing and after a week there was mold. The person that wrote this recipe obviously needed to add every detail, that worked for her, i wish she would rewrite her recipe or just delete it. Next time i will read the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Recipe didn't work for me...I'm going to try again though and use more sugar. I don't think there was quite enough to "super-saturate" the water. I'll use more sugar and heat it longer than I did the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States