Rock Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Well I did 2cups sugar 1 cup water with a decent splash of peppermint oil. I took a paper towel and a pony tail band and made a good tight seal around the top of my chinesse take out bowl. It's a 4inch by 6 inch tall plastic container. I had a stupid idea and put popsickel sticks in the solution, I removed them b4 they could get moldy! I'm sure wood is a bad idea in water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
The sugar to water ratio is absolutely WRONG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Does the temperature of the room make a difference? I just started with another recipe for rock candy, and it looks like the whole thing is solidifying in the bottom of the jar with nothing different going on with the stick. The room it's in is on the cool side. I wonder if maybe the temperature of the room has something to do with this, as well as the mold issue some people have experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This didn't quite work for me, but i'm close. i found another recipe that called for 2c water and 4 c sugar. i used stawberry flavoring and red food coloring. i also "seeded" bamboo skewers with sugar before placing in the solution. I used a large mason jar and i covered it with wax paper and put a rubber band around the brim to keep it one, i then stuck the bamboo skewers through the top of the wax paper and secured them with clothespins. It sat for two weeks, crystals started forming after the first week but not as big as regular rock candy. I found i had more crystals growing into the bottom of the jar than i had growing on the skewers. The candy tasted really good but the crystals were a small size. Not sure what i did wrong but i know i'm close to getting this right. any suggestions let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I have tried this recipe (and several others) with not much success. I'm sure the concept is there and maybe it's just me but I couldn't get it to work. I didn't have a problem with mold, just ants. They were after the sugar big time! I gave this a 3 cuz' I'm not sure if it's me or the recipe. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
As a kid my brother and I made this all the time. We used a piece of string (or a few pieces of string to make more) and I don't remember ever covering it. We never measured how much sugar... just poured some in.. maybe a quarter c/jar.. and we never got mold. The string started getting crystals after just a few days but we left them in longer to make them bigger. This recipe is a lot of fun, but I htink it just needs more sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I would give this zero stars if I could. Rock candy is supposed to be a supersaturated solution when you mix the sugar and water together. That means you should have more sugar than water not equal amounts of both. Of course, when you leave sugar water out it feeds bacteria, just like if you would leave meat out. The main thing is to try to make sure everything is as sanitized as possible and go for a recipe that has a sugar:water ratio of 2:1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
EVERYBODY! If you get moldy water, try these things: Instead of a skewer, use cotton string or dental floss. Cover jar with something lighter. Use the ratio 2 Cups Sugar to 1 Cup Water. If you try any of these things, and they work, post it here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Recipes does not work! After following everything all I got was moldy water. Do not count on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This was the first thing that I'd ever "cooked" by myself - it was done as one of my first science projects in the late 70's. It works just as well 30 years later. =) Flavoring oils really do enhance the experience now, though. I *love* this in orange and vanilla flavors... definitely use a light cloth over the top of the jar, cheesecloth works best. A very fond memory revisited. Thanks for the reminder. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States