Rocco's Olive Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This bread is awesome!! My bf absolutely loves the texture and uses it for his sandwich bread! We make it every week for lunches alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
My 6 and 8 yr olds are clamoring for more of this bread. I used two small cans of sliced olives, drained, and I upped the butter to 2 tbsp and increased the garlic salt to 1 tsp. This bread was so good, we were going back for seconds, and our dog snatched it off the counter! That's the first time he's ever done that, so I guess he'd give it a 5-star rating, too. Am going to make this again tonight for our church small group. Thanks for the recipe; my only advice to the person who had their olives macerated would be to use whole, pitted olives instead of the sliced ones. Or else, make the bread by hand without the machine. This is an easy, tasty recipe, wonderful with melted butter. **Updated 1/23/08** Used a cup of whole olives (pitted kalamatas and green olives) plus a can of drained, sliced black olives for variety. Love this bread! Great warm with melted butter! Kids, now ages 7&9 love it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
when my machine said to addd the olives, i needed to add more flour, the olives made the dough very mushy. Turned out wonderful, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Very good olive bread. For those who want directions on making bread by hand, check out the Allrecipes article Bread Machine Baking: Tips for Experimenting. That should help you figure it out. I use my bread maker mainly for dough mixing, and after making what seems like hundreds of loaves of bread, I've learned a few things about breadmakers. 1: you can let it do it's thing, but check periodically to make sure you have the correct ratio of liquids--sometimes you have to add flour, sometimes more water. It all depends on the moisture content of the air at the time you are making the bread and 2: ingredients like cheese, olives, etc, tend to get mangled to tiny bits by the beaters in the bread maker, so add them at the fruit and nut beep (if your machine has one) to keep them from getting too eviscerated. I did that with this recipe but actually missed the beep (put it in a while after), so some of the olives actually remained whole. I baked at 375 for 50 minutes and it was great. This bread, however, rises like crazy so keep an eye on it if you let it rise again and bake in the oven. It overflowed my pan so I had to punch it down and start all over. I love the flavor of this and next time I'll try half wheat flour and maybe fresh garlic to make the garlic pop as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Great tasting bread! I made mine entirely in my bread machine and it worked quite well. I used a 5 1/2 ounces of olives in my batch and I did have to add a little flour during the kneading process. Just made a gourmet cheeseburger using the olive bread for the bun. Added some soy sauce to the meat, a little fresh pepper, and fried the bread right in the same frying pan as the pattie. Fantastic combo! Thanks Rocco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This cooked up perfect in my bread machine. Nice size med loaf. I did have to add a bit more flour to the mixing cycle. I also added 3 small choped chili peppers. Makes great sandwhich bread, try it with a chicken BLT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
So I made this bread today, & it was Awesome!! I made a couple of changes,but do not know if they made much of an impact. I cut the butter down to a little less than a Tblespoon, melted it, and combined it w/extra virgin Olive oil to total 1.5 Tblsp. Then I sauteed 4 small cloves of fresh finely minced garlic in it. I combined that with 8 ozs. chopped, pitted Calamata olives. I let the olive/garlic cool before adding it to the flour and yeast mixture. I did not have a bread machine so I took the other reviewer's advice and used my dough hook and my Kitchenaid mixer. First I added 1 envelope of rapid rise yeast to the slightly warm water in the bowl along with the brown sugar. I let the yeast mixture get frothy before I added the flour. Also, since I did not use garlic salt, I added only 1/4 tsp of garlic powder to the flour and then added 1/4 tsp of salt, because I felt the olives added enough salt flavor. I have also had problems in the past with doughs not rising, I suspect due to the salt in the dough killing the yeast. I let it rise twice, and finally shaped it into a round loaf and baked it in a 375 degree F preheated oven for 30 min. I also threw 1.5 cups of ice cubes onto the floor of the hot oven at the same time I put the dough into the oven to create some steam while it baked. IT WAS DELICIOUS! Crusty on the outside, tender and wonderful on the inside. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Nice moist, coarse bread. I put this in the bread machine on the Dough setting, and finished baking in a loaf pan in the oven, 375 for 25 minutes. I plan to experiment in the future, substituting items like chipotle peppers, sun-dried tomatoes, and on and on. Great Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I have never made bread machine bread as good as this one! Thanks for sharing this great recipe. I added the olives after it had been kneading awhile so that they weren't just little bits. It worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fall River, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Subbed olive oil for butter; minced garlic and salt for garlic salt; used scant 2 teas yeast. Excellent! Even people who told me they don't eat ripe olives had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States