Rocco's Olive Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
when my machine said to addd the olives, i needed to add more flour, the olives made the dough very mushy. Turned out wonderful, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This turned out awfully. The olives were macerated by the bread machine and the whole overall taste was not good. The kids wouldn't even touch it and they love bread. As olive bread goes, I'd go find another recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
My 6 and 8 yr olds are clamoring for more of this bread. I used two small cans of sliced olives, drained, and I upped the butter to 2 tbsp and increased the garlic salt to 1 tsp. This bread was so good, we were going back for seconds, and our dog snatched it off the counter! That's the first time he's ever done that, so I guess he'd give it a 5-star rating, too. Am going to make this again tonight for our church small group. Thanks for the recipe; my only advice to the person who had their olives macerated would be to use whole, pitted olives instead of the sliced ones. Or else, make the bread by hand without the machine. This is an easy, tasty recipe, wonderful with melted butter. **Updated 1/23/08** Used a cup of whole olives (pitted kalamatas and green olives) plus a can of drained, sliced black olives for variety. Love this bread! Great warm with melted butter! Kids, now ages 7&9 love it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Great tasting bread! I made mine entirely in my bread machine and it worked quite well. I used a 5 1/2 ounces of olives in my batch and I did have to add a little flour during the kneading process. Just made a gourmet cheeseburger using the olive bread for the bun. Added some soy sauce to the meat, a little fresh pepper, and fried the bread right in the same frying pan as the pattie. Fantastic combo! Thanks Rocco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This cooked up perfect in my bread machine. Nice size med loaf. I did have to add a bit more flour to the mixing cycle. I also added 3 small choped chili peppers. Makes great sandwhich bread, try it with a chicken BLT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This bread is awesome!! My bf absolutely loves the texture and uses it for his sandwich bread! We make it every week for lunches alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made this recipe today. It is indeed fluffy. Fluffed over the top of my bread mixer container. The flavor was O.K., but way too much fluff, not even browned on top. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
What do you do when you don't have a bread maker machine? Is it possible to get someone experienced with hand bread making to contact me and let me know how to do this bread effectively that way? Thanks. I really do want to try this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Skyere, don't let the lack of a bread machine deter you from making bread the old fashioned way. I don't own a bread machine, nor do I have any desire to. I do, however, have a KitchenAid stand mixer which helps with the kneading process. This is how I start out all of my breads no matter what the directions say. I pour the warm water into the mixing bowl and then add the yeast and sugar and then stir. This particular recipe calls for brown sugar so I would go with that, but normally when a bread recipe calls for regular white sugar, I use honey instead. The sugar by itself or in the honey will help the yeast to proof. From there you can then add your butter, garlic, flour, garlic and olives. If you don't have a heavy duty stand mixer, you'll have to knead the dough for about eight minutes until it's smooth and elastic. Place the dough into a bowl with a bit of olive oil and coat. Cover the bowl with a clean kitchen towel and let it sit in a warm place until it doubles in size. (about an hour) Punch the dough down, knead for a few minutes and if you have the time, you can give it a second rise. Punch down again and shape dough into a loaf and place on a cookie sheet. Cover loaf and let rise again; about thirty minutes. I know it sounds like a lot of work, but it really isn't as bad as it seems. Plus I think it's so much more satisfying than throwing a bunch ingredients into a machine. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
So I made this bread today, & it was Awesome!! I made a couple of changes,but do not know if they made much of an impact. I cut the butter down to a little less than a Tblespoon, melted it, and combined it w/extra virgin Olive oil to total 1.5 Tblsp. Then I sauteed 4 small cloves of fresh finely minced garlic in it. I combined that with 8 ozs. chopped, pitted Calamata olives. I let the olive/garlic cool before adding it to the flour and yeast mixture. I did not have a bread machine so I took the other reviewer's advice and used my dough hook and my Kitchenaid mixer. First I added 1 envelope of rapid rise yeast to the slightly warm water in the bowl along with the brown sugar. I let the yeast mixture get frothy before I added the flour. Also, since I did not use garlic salt, I added only 1/4 tsp of garlic powder to the flour and then added 1/4 tsp of salt, because I felt the olives added enough salt flavor. I have also had problems in the past with doughs not rising, I suspect due to the salt in the dough killing the yeast. I let it rise twice, and finally shaped it into a round loaf and baked it in a 375 degree F preheated oven for 30 min. I also threw 1.5 cups of ice cubes onto the floor of the hot oven at the same time I put the dough into the oven to create some steam while it baked. IT WAS DELICIOUS! Crusty on the outside, tender and wonderful on the inside. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States