Rob's Screaming Stuffed Jalapeno Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Instead of just slitting the jalapenos, I cut out a wedge from the top and then replace the wedge after adding the filling and before wrapping with bacon. Note: if you do too good a job of scraping out the seeds, the peppers lose most of their "heat". For those that prefer screaming hot finger food, I leave about half the seeds in some of the peppers and mark them with red toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I thought these jap poppers were delicious. We made them for New Years. I cooked them in the oven and they turned out great. I did end up cooking them a little while longer than the recipe said, and then broiling them until brown. The filling was mild, the first night (but I refridgerated some and made them the next day and they were slammin' hot. I froze some of the others (obviously this recipe make a gillion!) So I am interested to see if they turn out great too. Great recipe!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Great recips, I've been making these for years. I put Chorizo in mine. I'll put 10-12 in my smoker when I'm grilling ribs or brisket and slow cook them. The bacon shrinks around the poppers, then I slice them into wheels. I've also put them into a 250 degree oven and had the same reults (without the great smoky flavor though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Man those are good peppers! Ate 10 of 'em in on shot! Screaming, though I'm not so sure of. I cooked them in the oven and the cooking must have taken the "scream" out of them. If your cooking them in the oven you might consider adding come crushed red pepper flakes or something if you truly like these to be hot. I honestly like them just the way they were, just mild and flavorful. I will make 50 of them next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I made these for a family party and my grandma told me I was a better cook than she was. That meant alot to me. The poppers were awesome and I wont have a bbq without them. Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I initially thought basil and sundried tomatoes were an odd combination for jalapenos, but these were excellent! I used oil-packed sundried tomatoes that I rinsed and added a clove of garlic. These were so tasty. . . I shared them with a friend who made them the next night for a get-together and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
These are amazing! My husband and I are huge "hot" fans and this recipe does the trick! We use light cream cheese to cut back on calories a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terod1
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Wow! These are the most delicious stuffed jalapenos I've ever tasted. I was so curious about the cream cheese and the other ingredients...different from the usual cheese. I used the sunflower oil packed, but didn't realize it at the time that I bought it. I really squeezed the oil out with a paper towel as much as possible. I oven roasted them and I am definitely sharing this recipe. Very,very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Excellent! We loved the basil & tomato in these. Only change was to use garlic powder in place of fresh because I didn't think the garlic would end up being cooked enough for our tastes - and I also baked them at 350 for 20 minutes, broiled for 2-3 minutes. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Great flavor, love this recipe! We love jalapenos and basil and never knew they go so well together. I only have sun-dried tomatoes in oil at my market, and they worked out fine. I've made these a few times now, the only changes I've made are as follows. I threw in a little Worcestershire sauce to the cheese mix for a bit more flavor. I sprinkled cheddar cheese over the filling before closing, it helps to keep the cream cheese from spilling out during cooking and who doesn't love more cheese? Oh, and if you don't have time to defrost bacon or just don't have any, I've successfully used "real" bacon bits from Hormel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States